May 09th – 12th, 2019 High End | Munich MOC

For questions, please call us: +49 (0) 355 38377808

End of Discussion.

Scroll down

tars Digital Audio on a New Level

The music server tars from genuin audio ends the long-lasting discussion about the right format for audiophile listening pleasure. Analog or digital is now no longer an issue, for tars can also convey those special qualities that are generally attributed to vinyl records: fine dynamics, spatial representation and naturalness, yet with a comfort that goes far beyond the convenience of a CD.

In addition to striving for perfect sound quality, this server has placed great emphasis on designing an easy-to-use and extremely stable digital music system. A further core objective of the development was the comprehensive configuration: tars brings together all relevant functions in a single device. An additional computer is not required at any time.

4 in 1

The music server tars combines four central functionalities: reading CDs or audio files, storing and managing the resulting music library, playing the audio files and controlling via tablet. Each of these processes takes particular account of audiophile demands. Therefore, in reliable genuin audio style, uncompromising paths have been taken to ensure genuine and undisturbed listening pleasure.

CD Ripping

One simply needs to insert a CD into the Tars’ drive. The data will be independently extracted from the CD, compared with up to five databases and stored internally on the SSD storage module of the music server.

The AccurateRip algorithms of renowned software dB Poweramp, which performs in the background, guarantee a perfect reading process.

All files are upsampled and stored in WAV format with 24-bit word width and up to 192 kHz sample rate. This also applies to audio files that have been imported via an external hard disk or a USB stick. Thus, the present files correspond 1:1 to the native word width and potential sample rate of the connected external converter.

Solid State Drive

The collected music files are stored on Tars’ internal SSD modules. Up to 5 SSDs can be mounted and addressed. By today’s standards, it is possible to hold up to 20 terabytes of data. This is about 30.000 CDs.

In addition to fast access times and distinct long-term stability, the absence of any mechanical elements found in conventional hard disks also supports the use of SSDs. This avoids disturbing noises that will undoubtedly affect listening pleasure. This approach continues in a totally fan-less design of the server that is cooled completely passively.

PCIe Bridge

A core philosophy of genuin audio is the short signal paths principle. This concept, which always serves the goal of a natural sound image, is also consistently applied in tars.

The PCIe bridge on the mainboard is also a key component. It is used for direct transmission of the files located on the SSD modules onto the S/PDIF output, which is available in coaxial (RCA) or symmetrical AES/EBU-format (XLR). This process is controlled by genuin audio’s in-house programmed driver software.
The operating system of the music server, which is responsible for the other processes within the tars, is to some extent bypassed in a pure playback process.

Ultra precise timing

The exact timing of the transmitted digital signals, which is totally relevant for a natural playback, calls for an extremely accurate and exceptionally temperature-stable OCXO clock. Its accuracy is 10-9. The combination of a high-precision clock and the shortest possible signal path from SSD via PCIe Bridge to S/PDIF, can minimize jitter to the largest extent.

Jitter avoidance

A particularly low jitter rate is extremely important for a convincing playback of digitally stored music.

A bit represents a snapshot of the music. If it cannot be read or played, it will be treated as “skipped”. In normal digital sources, Error Concealment Codes (ECC) are therefore fed in to compensate for skipped bits. Although the ECCs should compensate for the skipped bits, this will result in a dramatic increase in temporal pulse jitter. This effect is also called “Read Jitter”. It makes up a serious source of error in digital music reproduction.

genuin audio has therefore deliberately attended to jitter avoidance in every operation of the music server Tars: ripping / storage / playback.

With tars, we have developed a music server that does not behave like a PC, but rather a classic high-end audio component. Nevertheless, it offers the comfort of the computer world, but combines it with the highest audiophile sound quality.

René Kockisch
Developer of genuin audio Tars

Three paths to power

The enormous importance of power supply for high-end audio components is undisputed nowadays. This critical aspect is even more important in a music server. As they were originally not designed for fragile audio signals, computer mainboards, for example, are a potential source of interference caused by sound deteriorating crosstalk noises.

genuin audio has therefore, in typical consistency, taken several effective measures to exclude such negative influences:

  1. All relevant system components – motherboard, PCIe bridge and SSD each have their own separate power supply line.
  2. Internal power supply has been completely swapped out. An external discreet power supply, built with a large ring-core transformer, is deliberately generously dimensioned, which is also apparent in its weight: 12 kilograms.
  3. The three power supply lines for motherboard, PCIe bridge and SSD are connected to an external power adaptor as part of a specially crafted eleven-millimeter thick cable and are highly securely fixed through a huge bayonet nut connector.

A computer but no computer

Basically, tars is a computer that does not feel like a computer. Because it has been optimized in every aspect for high-end audio playback and has no other task to fulfill.

genuin audio’s music server is based on Windows 8.1 operating system in an “embedded” version, which has been tailored solely to this specific functionality. This means that all other processing aspects that are not necessary for music reproduction have been removed. There are no unnecessary additional processes or programs, and a false operation is impossible. The result of this concept: tars is highly efficient, stable and easy to handle.

Invisible service

The user does not need to attend to this music computer at all. Updates are automatically installed in the background by genuin audio as soon as the device is turned on and connected to the Internet. The listening pleasure of the owner of a tars will not be interrupted.

It is also possible to obtain a chargeable remote maintenance of the music server in order to remedy any malfunctions or optimize settings. This is done directly via an Internet connection to genuin audio where the device is checked per remote access and adjusted if necessary.

Tablet operation

The music server tars does not need an external computer screen. It is controlled solely by a tablet. Alternatively, a smartphone can be used. Because of its larger screens, however, we still recommend using a tablet. You can choose between iOS or Android operating systems.

The “JRemote” player app recommended for managing tars is available for download from App Store or Google Play. This reliable software affords a simple and convenient way to select tracks, organize music libraries and create playlists. “JRemote” supports all popular formats: FLAC, ALAC, AIFF, MP3, OGG, AAC, WAV.

Multiroom compatibility

The genuin server offers the possibility to be integrated into a multi-room concept. The music files stored on its internal SSD memory modules as part of a DNLA-based setup can also be accessed by other clients. Therefore, music can also be played in other rooms other than the usual listening room, e.g. kitchen, bathroom or bedroom.

Preamplifier option

Tars is delivered in its basic configuration as a pure server with a fixed volume output.

For those who want to use the music server as a preamplifier in combination with active speakers, however, tars can also come with a volume control, even fitted at a later stage.
This upgrade is done directly via remote maintenance by genuin audio. The volume is then conveniently managed via the virtual volume control of the “JRemote” app on the tablet. Thanks to an extremely precise 64-bit processing of the software, sound-deteriorating influence is completely excluded.

The inside matters

Even in the digital world, the fundamental principles of genuin audio have their validity: innovative technical approach, short signal paths, best materials, uncompromising audio quality. This leads to a music server whose outstanding sound quality does not respond to but rather ends the old discussion about “analogue or digital”. It is no longer about formats. It is all about music.

Technical Specifications

Connectivity RJ 45 Ethernet, USB 3.1, AES/EBU (XLR), Coaxial (RCA)
Sampling Frequency Up to 192 kHz
Resolution 24 Bit
Upsampling 24 Bit / variable Sample Rate
Clock 10-9s
Data Transfer PCIe Bridge
Storage SSD 1 x 1 TB, up to 5 SSD
Cooling Passive
Volume Control Optional (64 Bit)
Software Windows 8.1 embedded (OS), DB Poweramp (CD-Rip)
Music Player JRemote (recommended) iOS / Android
Formats FLAC, ALAC, AIFF, MP3, OGG, AAC, WAV
Streaming Technology Airplay (iOS) / Googlecast (Android)
DNLA Server Yes
Mains Supply Triple power supply (mainboard – bridge – SSD)
Power Supply Unit External
Cable Length 2 Meter
Plug Bayonet nut connector
Case Aluminium
Dimensions 165 x 135 x 305 mm (B x H x T)
Weight 12 Kg
Case Server Aluminium, black or silver
Dimensions Server 441 x 125 x 331 (+100) mm (B x H x T)
Weight Server 8,2 Kg
Absorber Aluminium cylinder with integrated gel-decoupling

Press comments on the genuin tars

hifi-statement

„The tars by Genuin Audio is a sonically outstanding music server with great ease of use. If any more evidence of the importance of the music server in premium digital chains were needed, here you have it!“

Roland Dietl in HIFI STATEMENT (August 2018)
hifistatement.net


hifi records logo

“Genuin Audio has created a great music server in tars. It excels in high engineering effort, convenient features, ease of use, maximum reliability and above all – in conjunction with the external D / A converter – excellent sound quality. Genuin Audio and the developers have to be congratulated on this team achievement.”

Olaf Sturm in hifi & records, 01/2018

Did we draw your interest?

21. Oktober – 22. Oktober 2017 Analog Forum | Krefeld

Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an: +49 (0) 355 38377808

Das Ende der Diskussion.

Scroll down

Tars Digital Audio auf einem neuen Niveau

Der Musikserver Tars von Genuin Audio beendet die seit langem anhaltende Diskussion über das richtige Format für audiophilen Hörgenuss. Analog oder Digital ist ab jetzt keine Frage mehr. Denn Tars kann auch jene besonderen Eigenschaften vermitteln, die gemeinhin der Schallplatte zugeschrieben werden: Feindynamik, Raumdarstellung, Natürlichkeit. Jedoch mit einem Komfort, der weit über die Annehmlichkeit einer CD hinausgeht.

Bei diesem Server wurde neben dem Streben nach vollendeter Klangqualität höchsten Wert darauf gelegt, ein leicht zu bedienendes und extrem stabiles digitales Musiksystem zu konzipieren. Als weiteres Kernziel der Entwicklung stand im Pflichtenheft die allumfassende Ausstattung: der Genuin Audio Tars versammelt alle relevanten Funktionen in einem einzigen Gerät. Ein zusätzlicher Computer wird zu keinem Zeitpunkt benötigt.

4 in 1

Tars verrichtet vier zentrale Aufgaben: Einlesen von CDs oder Audio-Dateien, Speicherung und Verwaltung der daraus resultierenden Musikbibliothek, Abspielen der Audio-Files, Steuerung via Tablet. Jeder dieser Vorgänge geht unter besonderer Berücksichtigung audiophiler Ansprüche vonstatten. Dafür wurden in bewährter Genuin Audio-Manier kompromisslos nur Wege beschritten, die unverfälschten und ungestörten Hörgenuss sicherstellen.

CD Rip

Das Einlesen einer CD erfolgt vollautomatisiert. Es ist lediglich die Compact Disc in das Slot In- Laufwerk einzuschieben. Die Daten werden selbständig von der CD extrahiert, mit bis zu fünf Datenbanken abgeglichen und intern auf dem SSD-Speicherbaustein des Musikservers abgelegt.

Einen perfekten Einlese-Vorgang garantieren die ausgeklügelten AccurateRip-Algorithmen der renommierten Software dB Poweramp, welche diesen Vorgang im Hintergrund durchführt.

Alle Dateien werden hochgerechnet und im WAV-Format mit 24-Bit-Wortbreite und bis zu 192-kHz-Sample Rate gespeichert. Das gilt ebenso für Audio-Files, die über eine externe Festplatte oder einen USB-Stick eingelesen wurden. Damit entsprechen die vorliegenden Dateien dann 1:1 der nativen Wortbreite und möglichen Sample-Rate des anzuschließenden externen Wandlers.

Solid State Drive

Die Speicherung der gesammelten Musik-Dateien erfolgt auf internen SSD-Bausteinen des Tars. Es können bis zu 5 SSDs eingebaut und adressiert werden. Nach heutigem Maßstab besteht so die Möglichkeit, bis zu 20 Terabyte an Daten vorzuhalten. Das entspricht ungefähr 30.000 CDs.

Für die Verwendung von SSDs spricht neben schnellen Zugriffszeiten und ausgeprägter Langzeitstabilität auch das Fehlen jeglicher mechanischer Elemente, wie sie bei herkömmlichen Festplatten Verwendung finden. Dadurch werden störende Geräusche vermieden, die einen Hörgenuss zweifelsohne schmälerten. Dieser Ansatz setzt sich in einer komplett lüfterlosen Konzeption des Servers fort, welcher vollständig passiv gekühlt wird.

PCIe Bridge

Eine Kernphilosophie von Genuin Audio ist das Prinzip der kurzen Signalwege. Dieser dem Ziel eines natürlichen Klangbildes stets zuträgliche Gedanke wird auch beim Tars konsequent praktiziert.

Mitentscheidend ist hier eine PCIe Bridge auf der Hauptplatine, die für einen direkten Transport der auf dem SSD-Bausteinen befindlichen Dateien zum S/PDIF-Ausgang sorgt, der im koaxialen (RCA) oder symmetrischen AES/EBU-Format (XLR) bereitsteht. Diesen Vorgang steuert eine von Genuin Audio eigens programmierte Treiber-Software.

Das Betriebssystem des Musik-Servers, welches für die sonstigen Vorgänge innerhalb des Tars zuständig ist, wird beim reinen Abspielvorgang gewissermaßen umgangen.

Ultra-präziser Takt

Die für naturgetreue Wiedergabe besonders relevante Taktgenauigkeit der übertragenen digitalen Signale gewährleistet eine extrem exakte und ausnehmend temperaturstabile OCXO-Clock. Deren Genauigkeit liegt bei 10-9s.

Im Zusammenspiel aus dieser hochpräzisen Clock und dem kürzestmöglichen Signal-Weg von SSD via PCIe Bridge zu S/PDIF kann extrem minimierter Jitter realisiert werden.

Jitter-Vermeidung

Ein besonders geringer Jitter-Anteil ist außerordentlich wichtig für eine überzeugende Wiedergabe digital gespeicherter Musik.

Ein Bit repräsentiert eine Momentaufnahme der Musik. Wenn es nicht gelesen oder abgespielt werden kann, wird es als „übersprungen“ betrachtet. In normalen Digitalquellen werden daher Error Concealment Codes (ECC) eingeschleust, um übersprungene Bits zu kompensieren. Obwohl die ECCs die übersprungenen Bits ausgleichen sollen, führt dies zu einer dramatischen Zunahme von zeitlichem Taktzittern (= Jitter). Diesen Effekt nennt man auch „Read Jitter“. Er stellt eine gravierende Fehlerquelle in der digitalen Musikwiedergabe dar.

Genuin Audio hat daher sehr bewusst bei jedem Arbeitsgang des Musikservers Tars – Rippen/ Speichern/Wiedergeben – auf konsequente Jitter-Vermeidung geachtet.

Mit dem Tars haben wir einen Musikserver entwickelt, der sich nicht wie ein PC verhält, sondern wie eine klassische High End Audio-Komponente. Trotzdem bietet er den Komfort der Computerwelt, verbindet diesen aber mit höchster audiophiler Klangqualität.

René Kockisch
Entwickler Genuin Audio Tars

Drei Wege zum Strom

Die enorme Bedeutung der Stromversorgung bei High-End-Audio-Komponenten ist heutzutage unbestritten. Bei einem Musikserver jedoch vervielfacht sich dieser kritische Aspekt noch. Da sie ursprünglich nicht für fragile Audio-Signale konzipiert wurden sind beispielsweise Computer-Hauptplatinen eine potentielle Störquelle durch Klangqualität mindernde Rausch-Einstreuungen.

Deswegen hat Genuin Audio in typischer Konsequenz mehrere zielführende Maßnahmen ergriffen, um derartige negative Einfüsse auszuschließen:

  1. Alle relevanten Systemkomponenten – Motherboard, PCIe Bridge und SSD verfügen jeweils über eine eigene, separate Strom-Versorgungslinie.
  2. Das Netzteil wurde vollständig ausgelagert. Diese klassisch mit großem Ringkern-Transformator aufgebaute diskrete Stromversorgung ist bewusst großzügig dimensioniert, was sich auch im Gewicht manifestiert: 12 Kilo.
  3. Die drei Strom-Versorgungslinien für Motherboard, PCIe Bridge und SSD werden als Bestandteil eines speziell angefertigten, elf Millimeter dicken Spezialkabels mit dem externen Netzteil verbunden und über einen gewaltigen Bajonettverschluss hochgradig kontaktsicher fixiert.

Ein Computer = Kein Computer

Grundsätzlich handelt es sich bei dem Tars um einen Computer, der sich nicht wie ein Computer anfühlt. Weil er in jeder Hinsicht für High End-Audio-Wiedergabe optimiert wurde und keine andere Aufgabe zu erfüllen hat.

Der Musikserver von Genuin Audio basiert auf dem Betriebssystem Windows 8.1 in einer „Embedded“-Ausführung, die allein auf diese spezifische Funktionalität zugeschnitten wurde. Das bedeutet: alle Teilaspekte, die nicht der Musikwiedergabe dienen, sind entfernt worden. Es gibt keine unnötigen weiteren Prozesse oder Programme, eine Fehlbedienung ist unmöglich. Das Ergebnis dieser Konzeption: Tars ist hochgradig performant, stabil und einfach in der Handhabung.

Unsichtbarer Service

Von Seiten des Nutzers ist keinerlei Wartung dieses Musik-Computers notwendig. Updates werden im Hintergrund durch Genuin Audio automatisch aufgespielt, sobald das Gerät angeschaltet und mit dem Internet verbunden ist. Der Besitzer des Tars wird davon nicht in seinem Hörvergnügen unterbrochen.

Optional ist es möglich, eine kostenpflichtige Fernwartung des Musikservers zu erhalten, um etwaige Missstände zu beheben oder Einstellungen zu optimieren. Dieser Vorgang erfolgt direkt über eine Internetverbindung zu Genuin Audio, von wo das Gerät via Fernzugriff überprüft und gegebenenfalls eingestellt wird.

Tablet-Bedienung

Der Musikserver Tars benötigt keinen externen Computer-Bildschirm. Er wird ausschließlich über ein Tablet gesteuert. Alternativ kann ein Smartphone verwendet werden. Wegen der größeren Bildschirmdiagonalen empfehlen wir jedoch die Nutzung eines Tablets. Sie haben die Wahl zwischen den Betriebssystemen iOS oder Android.

Die zur Handhabung des Tars empfohlene Player-App „JRemote“ ist im App-Store oder bei Google Play per Download erhältlich. Diese bewährte Software gestattet es auf einfache und komfortable Weise, Titel anzuwählen, Musik-Libraries zu organisieren, Playlists zu erstellen. „JRemote“ unterstützt alle populären Formate: FLAC, ALAC, AIFF, MP3, OGG, AAC, WAV.

Multi Room-Kompatibilität

Der Genuin-Server bietet die Möglichkeit, in ein Multi Room-Konzept eingebunden zu werden. Die auf seinen internen SSD-Speicherbausteinen hinterlegten Musikdateien lassen sich als Teil eines auf DNLA-basierten Setups auch von anderen Clients ansprechen. So kann diese Musik auch in anderen Räumen außerhalb des gewohnten Hörzimmers erklingen, z.B. Küche, Bad oder Schlafzimmer.

Option Vorstufe

Tars wird in seiner Basisausstattung als reiner Server ausgeliefert, der einen fixen Pegel an seinem Ausgang bereitstellt.

Wer jedoch den Musikserver gleichsam als Vorverstärker beispielsweise in der Kombination mit Aktivlautsprechern nutzen möchte, kann Tars – auch nachträglich – mit einer regelbaren Lautstärke ausstatten.

Dieses Upgrade erfolgt per Fernwartung direkt durch Genuin Audio. Die Steuerung des Pegels geschieht dann bequem über den virtuellen Lautstärkeregler der „JRemote“-App auf dem Tablet. Dank einer extrem feinstufigen 64 Bit-Verarbeitung der Software ist eine klangmindernde Beeinflussung vollständig ausgeschlossen.

The inside matters

Auch in der digitalen Welt haben die grundlegenden Prinzipien von Genuin Audio ihre Gültigkeit: innovativer technischer Ansatz, kurze Signalwege, beste Materialien, kompromisslose Audio- Qualität. Das führt zu einem Musik-Server, dessen überragende Klangqualität die alte Diskussion „Analog oder Digital“ nicht beantwortet, sondern beendet. Es geht nicht mehr um Formate. Es geht nur noch um Musik.

Technische Daten

Anschlüsse RJ 45 Ethernet, USB 3.1, AES/EBU (XLR), Koaxial (RCA)
Sampling Frequenz Bis 192 kHz
Auflösung 24 Bit
Upsampling 24 Bit / freie Sample Rate
Clock 10-9s
Datentransfer PCIe Bridge
Speicher SSD 1 x 1 TB, maximal 5 SSD
Kühlung Passiv
Lautstärkeregelung Optional (64 Bit)
Software Windows 8.1 embedded (Betriebssystem), DB Poweramp (CD-Rip)
Steuerung JRemote (empfohlen) iOS / Android
Formate FLAC, ALAC, AIFF, MP3, OGG, AAC, WAV
Streaming-Technologie Airplay (iOS) / Googlecast (Android)
DNLA Server Ja
Stromversorgung 3-fach (Mainboard – Bridge – SSD)
Netzteil Extern
Kabel 2 Meter
Anschluss Bajonett
Gehäuse Netzteil Aluminium
Abmessungen Netzteil 165 x 135 x 305 mm (B x H x T)
Gewicht Netzteil 12 Kg
Gehäuse Server Aluminium, Schwarz oder Silber
Abmessungen Server 441 x 125 x 331 (+100) mm (B x H x T)
Gewicht Server 8,2 Kg
Absorber Aluminium-Zylinder mit integrierter Gel-Entkoppelung

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?