For questions, please call us: +49 (0) 355 38377808
  • The pinnacle in every system.

Scroll down

pearl Brilliant achievement

At first glance, the pearl phono preamplifier seems unobtrusive. But just like a pearl in a shell, this phono preamp has something special hidden in it. True to the mantra of genuin audio: The inside matters. It’s only the sonic result that counts. And, it’s not the device itself that dazzles with its artistic extravagance, but it’s the music it enhances that shines in all its beauty – after the pearl has performed its task. Which is: to make all facets and abilities of a cartridge audible.

Knowledge and consistency

Responsible for the development of the pearl is Walter Fuchs, and as with all luminaries in the engineering world that were commissioned by genuin audio for their respective products, he as well has been subject to the guideline: “No room for compromises on the way to the natural sound”. With this maxim in mind, the Bochum-based high end bedrock designed the pearl, a phono preamplifier that exactly follows his ideas of how a phono stage of the highest quality should be constructed. For example, on the basis of a channel-separated circuitry, all amplifier components operate internally in Class A mode and are switched by encapsulated relays via cross-bar contacts with a gold-silver-palladium coating.

The RIAA equalization is carried out in two stages. One is active and thus increases the overload stability, the second is passive. Both stages of the readily built-up device undergo a final adjustment by Walter Fuchs in the event of a deviation of the expected data with regard to gain or frequency response linearity. This is one of the advantages of the customized manufactory concept: here, each particular product can be optimized. In this way you are assured to own a perfect phono preamplifier.

Finest components

The pearl achieves fantastically low distortion values, which contribute significantly to its intimate sound. This is partly due to the use of the finest components available on the market, some of which are individually selected.
For example, 1% MKP capacitors are applied in the RIAA equalization, which are additionally selected in pairs. The audio operational amplifiers used have distortion values that can no longer be reliably measured (< 0.0001%).

The resistors in the equalization stage feature 0.1% tolerance values, as do the resistors at the outputs of the driver stages. All other resistors are set to a 1% tolerance. This guarantees that a high common mode rejection of more than 80 dB is guaranteed when used with correctly designed balanced inputs in the subsequent signal processing.

Exceptional linearity

In the equalization stage, the amplification values of the two separatedly executed channels are matched to frequency response linearity and level equality. This results in values that exceed the guaranteed plus/minus 0.3 dB and are typically better than plus/minus 0.1 dB.

Please note the extremely fine scaling on the Y-axis (left vertical).

MC and MM

The pearl is designed for the operation of two different cartridge systems which can be connected simultaneously. Usually these are a Moving Coil (MC) and a Moving Magnet (MM) or Moving Iron (MI) cartridge. “High Output” MCs may also be used.

The MC section features a strictly balanced circuitry and is therefore connected via XLR sockets, while an MM cartridge is to be connected in unbalanced fashion via RCA/cinch sockets.

“It is the well thought-out interplay of the many individually optimized sections that makes the pearl an extraordinary phono preamplifier.“

Walter Fuchs
Designer of the genuin audio pearl

Finetuning

Two rows of DIP switches are located on the underside of the phono preamp. These offer extensive possibilities to adapt the pearl individually to any desired cartridge and to present its qualities in the best possible way.

In the MC path, the input resistance can be set between 125 and 2000 ohms, while a total of five different switching options are offered for amplification. With an MM/MI pickup, the pearl’s fixed input capacitance of 47 pF can be increased by adding up to four further capacitance steps of 47 pF each. Thus, a total of five adjustment levels can be selected. When determining the optimum value, also the capacities of the connecting cable and the tonearm cable must always be taken into account.

Subsonic filter

The subsonic filter completely uses MKP capacitors in the form of a modified Butterworth filter, which also provides for the RIAA characteristic curve in order to produce an optimal filter behaviour.

Material combinations

The pearl’s enclosure, available in black or silver, is made as a slide-in construction. It consists of an inner housing (sheet steel) to which an additional outer housing (aluminium) is firmly screwed to achieve a high mass. In combination with the vibration-damped circuit boards and the rubber rings in the four damping feet, this results in a pronounced resistance to shock and vibration.

External pre-tracking power supply

The pearl’s power supply has been swapped out into a separate housing. Current is provided by a 250 VA toroidal transformer, which is fed via a mains filter with DC suppression. Subsequent stabilisation reduces the remaining mains interference to less than 25μV. The mains filter operates without reference to the protective conductor and has a very low cut-off frequency to eliminate potential interference as early as possible.

In addition to the power supply’s sieve capacity of 40.000 μF, the phono preamplifier itself features eight additional capacitors with a total of 80.000μF. This list of measures all serves the purpose of protecting the fragile phono signals from electrical and mechanical interference and at the same time delivering a “clean” current. The result: an extremely calm and smooth sonic image in front of a deep black background.

Hear it all

By combining designer expertise and the uncompromising implementation of decades of experience paired to the use of finest selected materials, the pearl shows what your cartridge is really capable of. For the very first time you can experience how good your records can sound – if an outstanding phono preamplifier brings in its magic. Just like the pearl from genuin audio…

Specifications

 

Type of device Phono preamplifier
Possible cartridges Moving Coil (MC), High Output MC, Moving Magnet (MM), Moving Iron (MI)
MC
Concept Balanced (XLR)
Input impedance Variable: 125 Ohm to 2 kOhm
Input capacity 2 x 470 pF
Gain 20, 22, 24, 26, 28 dB
Common mode rejection > 90 dB between 20 Hz and 20 kHz
Signal-to-noise ratio unvalued > 60 dB
Signal-to-noise ratio valued > 65 dB
Output impedance 2 x 47 Ohm
MM/MI
Concept Unbalanced (RCA-Cinch)
Input impedance Variable: 47 pF to 285 pF
Gain 37 dB, 40 dB, 42 dB, 44dB, 46 dB
Signal-to-noise ratio unvalued > 80 dB
Signal-to-noise ratio valued > 90 dB
Output impedance 47 Ohm
In general
Equalization RIAA without Neumann time constant
Frequency response deviation 10 Hz – 100 kHz < +- 0,3 dB (typically < 0,1 dB)
Frequency response deviation channel-to-channel < +- 0,3 dB (typically < 0,1 dB)
Level difference channel-to-channel < +- 0,3 dB (typically < 0,1 dB)
Maximum output voltage balanced > 19 V effective
Maximum output voltage unbalanced > 9 V effective
Subsonic filter switchable; 15.9 Hz (-3 dB); 18 dB/Octave Bessel characteristic
Overload indication > though 10 mV/1 kHz MM input
THD & Noise < 0.001% between 20 Hz and 20 kHz
Intermodulation < 0,001%
Sieve capacity > 80 000 µF
Dimensions (W x D x H) 205 x 262 x 63 mm
Weight 2.4 kilograms
Mains power supply
External power supply Filtered toroidal transformer with DC suppression and voltage stabilization
Rated output 250 Watt
Sieve capacity > 40 000 µF
Dimensions (W x D x H) 165 x 315 x 70 mm
Weight 4.1 kilograms

 

 

Interferences and external influences in relation to the amplified signal*

No intermodulation visible

No harmonic interference visible

*All measurements were made via the MC input. The corresponding values for a measurement via the MM input are typically 20 dB better.

Press comments on the genuin pearl

„Don’t get fooled by the understated appearance. Walter Fuchs has injected his entire career experience into the Genuin Audio Pearl and thus created this little miracle, whose musicality will have you addicted. Congratulations, Bravo, encore!“

Michael Vrzal in FIDELITY Magazin, 05/2019


„Sometimes, recognizing a truly great product is very simple: You listen to music that, for whatever reason, you don’t actually like, hear the first notes and are suddenly drawn to it and curious as to how it continues. An hour later, you ask yourself how that time has slipped and why the chores you had planned for were forgotten. (…) Hearing? No, experiencing! (…) Fuchs has successfully done it again and delivered an amp for those kind of music connoisseurs that prefer visual understatement paired with a hidden gem versus opulence and a global brand name. The resulting amp holds its own with even the most expensive and premium systems.“

Michael Lang in STEREO, 11/2020


hifi-statement

„In the extreme oversizing of the power supply Old School, in the selection of output impedance rather idiosyncratic, the pearl convinced right down the line. Walter Fuchs has created a fun machine for Genuin Audio that you can hardly resist, if at all!“

Dirk Sommer in HIFI STATEMENT (October 2019)
hifistatement.net


„Totally oversized power supply, twisted connections, unusual fine-tuning – the Phono Pre Genuin Audio Pearl doesn’t fit into any scheme. And its sound breaks all limits. […] Rarely have I heard such an analogue thriller. Wicked. Wickedly good.“

Lothar Brandt in AUDIO, 03/2020


hifi-records.png

„It is a perfect example for the outstanding level that can be attained by music playback from a vinyl record.[…] All in all, the Genuin Audio Pearl is a music machine that is truly worth listening to.“

Olaf Sturm in hifi & records, 02/2020

Did we draw your interest?

Achtung! Perreaux & AudioSolutions jetzt im Vertrieb von Cottbus HiFi. Mehr Informationen hier.
Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an: +49 (0) 355 38377808
  • Der Clou in jeder Kette.

Scroll down

pearl Glanzleistung

Im ersten Moment wirkt der Phono-Vorverstärker pearl unauffällig. Doch wie in einer Muschel die Perle, so sitzt bei diesem Phono-Pre-Amp das Besondere im Verborgenen. Getreu dem Mantra von genuin audio: the inside matters. Es ist es ausschließlich das klangliche Ergebnis, das zählt. Nicht das Gerät blendet durch gestalterische Extravaganz, sondern die von ihm veredelte Musik erstrahlt in voller Schönheit – nachdem der pearl seine Aufgabe erfüllt hat. Welche da lautet: sämtliche Facetten und Fähigkeiten eines Tonabnehmersystems hörbar zu machen.

Wissen und Konsequenz

Verantwortlich für den pearl zeichnet Walter Fuchs. Wie bei allen von genuin audio für die jeweiligen Produkte beauftragten Ingenieur-Koryphäen galt auch für ihn die Vorgabe: „Keine Kompromisse auf dem Weg zum natürlichen Klang“. Unter dieser Prämisse hat das Bochumer High End-Urgestein mit dem pearl einen Phono-Vorverstärker entworfen, der exakt seinen Vorstellungen folgt, wie eine Phonostufe der obersten Güteklasse konstruiert sein muss. Zum Beispiel arbeiten auf der Basis eines kanalgetrennten Schaltungsaufbaus alle Verstärkerbausteine intern im Class A-Betrieb und werden durch gekapselte Relais mittels Cross Bar-Kontakten mit einer Gold-Silber-Palladium Beschichtung geschaltet.

Die RIAA-Entzerrung erfolgt in zwei Stufen. Eine agiert aktiv und erhöht dadurch die Übersteuerungsfestigkeit, die zweite ist passiv ausgelegt. Bei beiden Stufen führt Walter Fuchs im Falle einer Abweichung der erwarteten Daten in Bezug auf Verstärkung oder Frequenzgang-Linearität einen finalen Abgleich am fertig aufgebauten Gerät durch. Das ist einer der Vorzüge des individuellen Manufaktur-Konzepts: hier kann jedes einzelne Produkt optimiert werden. So dürfen Sie sicher sein, einen perfekten Phono-Vorverstärker zu besitzen.

Beste Bauteile

Der pearl erreicht traumhaft geringe Verzerrungswerte, die wesentlich zu seinem in sich ruhenden Klang beitragen. Mitverantwortlich dafür ist der Einsatz der besten am Markt verfügbaren Bauteile, die teilweise eine individuelle Auswahlstufe erfahren.
So werden in der RIAA-Entzerrung 1%-MKP-Kondensatoren verwendet, die untereinander noch zusätzlich paarweise selektiert werden. Die eingesetzten Audio-Operationsverstärker weisen Verzerrungswerte auf, die nicht mehr sicher meßbar sind (< 0,0001%).

Die Widerstände in der Entzerrung sind mit 0,1% toleriert, ebenso die Widerstände an den Ausgängen der Treiberstufen. Alle anderen Widerstände liegen bei 1%. Damit wird garantiert, das in Verwendung mit korrekt aufgebauten nachfolgenden symmetrischen Eingängen eine hohe Gleichtakt-Unterdrückung von über 80 dB gewährleistet ist.

Außergewöhnliche Linearität

In der Entzerrungsstufe werden die Verstärkungen der beiden kanalgetrennt aufgebauten Kanäle auf Frequenzgang-Linearität und Pegelgleichheit untereinander abgeglichen. Daraus resultieren Werte, welche die garantierten plus/minus 0,3 dB übertreffen und typischerweise besser als plus/minus 0,1 dB sind.

Bitte beachten Sie die extrem feine Skalierung auf der Y-Achse (links vertikal).

MC und MM

Der pearl ist für den Betrieb von zwei unterschiedlichen Tonabnehmersystemen ausgelegt, die simultan angeschlossen werden können. In der Regel handelt es sich dabei um je einen Moving Coil-Tonabnehmer (MC) und einen Tonabnehmer nach den Prinzipien Moving Magnet (MM) oder Moving Iron (MI). „High Output“-MCs dürfen ebenfalls eingesetzt werden.

Der MC-Zweig ist strikt symmetrisch aufgebaut und demzufolge über XLR-Buchsen anzuschließen, während ein MM-Cartridge unsymmetrisch mittels RCA/Cinch-Buchsen seine Verbindung findet.

„Erst das durchdacht konzipierte Zusammenspiel der vielen, jeweils einzeln optimierten Teilbereiche macht den pearl zu einem außergewöhnlichen Phono-Vorverstärker.“

Walter Fuchs
Entwickler genuin audio pearl

Finetuning

Auf der Unterseite des Phono-Pre-Amps siedeln zwei Reihen von DIP-Schaltern. Diese offerieren umfassende Möglichkeiten, den pearl an jeden gewünschten Tonabnehmer individuell anzupassen und dessen Qualitäten bestmöglich zu präsentieren.

Im MC-Pfad läßt sich der Eingangswiderstand zwischen 125 Ohm und 2000 Ohm einstellen, während für die Verstärkung insgesamt fünf verschiedene Schaltoptionen geboten werden. Bei einem MM/MI-Tonabnehmer kann die fixe Eingangs-Kapazität des pearl von 47 pF durch Hinzufügen bis zu vier weiterer Kapazitätsschritte von jeweils 47 pF erhöht werden. Somit sind hier insgesamt fünf Anpassungs-Stufen wählbar. Bei der Ermittlung des optimalen Wertes sind stets auch die Kapazitäten des Verbindungskabels sowie vom Tonarm-Innenkabel miteinzubeziehen.

Subsonic Filter

Das Subsonic-Filter ist komplett mit MKP- Kondensatoren aufgebaut in Form eines modifizierten Butterworth-Filters, welches auch auf die RIAA-Kennlinie Rücksicht nimmt, um ein optimales Filterverhalten zu erzeugen.

Materialkombinationen

Das in Schwarz oder Silber erhältliche Gehäuse des pearl ist eine Einschub-Konstruktion. Sie besteht aus einem Innengehäuse (Stahlblech), auf dem ein zusätzliches Außengehäuse (Aluminium) fest verschraubt ist, um eine hohe Masse zu realisieren. In Verbindung mit den schwingungsgedämpften Platinen und den Gummi-Ringen in den vier Dämpfungsfüßen ist eine ausgeprägte Schock- und Vibrationsresistenz die Folge.

Externes Pre-Tracking Netzteil

Das Netzteil des pearl ist in ein separates Gehäuse ausgelagert worden. Die Stromversorgung erfolgt mit einem 250-VA-Ringkerntransformator, der über ein Netzfilter mit Gleichstrom-Unterdrückung gespeist wird. Eine nachfolgende Stabilisierung reduziert die restlichen Netzstöranteile auf weniger als 25μV. Das Netzfilter arbeitet ohne Bezug auf den Schutzleiter und hat eine sehr tiefe Eckfrequenz, um möglichst früh potentielle Störanteile auszublenden.

Ergänzend zur Siebkapazität im Netzteil von 40.000μF sitzen im Phono-Vorverstärker selber acht zusätzliche Kondensatoren mit 80.000μF. Diese Maßnahmen dienen alle dem Ziel, die fragilen Phono-Signale vor elektrischen und mechanischen Einstreuungen zu bewahren und gleichsam „sauberen“ Strom zu liefern. Die Folge: ein extrem ruhiges Klangbild vor tiefschwarzem Hintergrund.

Alles Hören

Durch die Verbindung von Entwickler-Expertise und der kompromisslosen Umsetzung dieser jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung unter Einsatz ausgewählter bester Materialien zeigt der pearl, zu welchen Höchstleistungen Ihr Tonabnehmer wirklich fähig ist. Damit erleben Sie erstmals, wie gut ihre Schallplatten klingen können – wenn eine überragende Phono- Vorstufe ihren Zauber einbringt. So wie die pearl von genuin audio…

Technische Daten

 

Gerätetyp Phono-Vorverstärker
Mögliche Tonabnehmer Moving Coil (MC), High Output MC, Moving Magnet (MM), Moving Iron (MI)
MC
Aufbau Symmetrisch (XLR)
Eingangswiderstand Variabel: 125 Ohm bis 2 kOhm
Eingangskapazität 2 x 470 pF
Verstärkung 20, 22, 24, 26, 28 dB
Gleichtaktunterdrückung > 90 dB zwischen 20 Hz und 20 kHz
Signal-Rauschabstand unbewertet > 60 dB
Signal-Rauschabstand bewertet > 65 dB
Ausgangswiderstand 2 x 47 Ohm
MM/MI
Aufbau Unsymmetrisch (RCA-Cinch)
Eingangskapazität Variabel: 47 pF bis 285 pF
Verstärkung 37 dB, 40 dB, 42 dB, 44dB, 46 dB
Signal-Rauschabstand unbewertet > 80 dB
Signal-Rauschabstand bewertet > 90 dB
Ausgangswiderstand 47 Ohm
Allgemein
Entzerrung RIAA ohne Neumann-Zeitkonstante
Frequenzgangabweichung 10 Hz – 100 kHz < +- 0,3 dB (typisch < 0,1 dB)
Frequenzgangabweichung Kanäle untereinander < +- 0,3 dB (typisch < 0,1 dB)
Pegelunterschied Kanäle untereinander < +- 0,3 dB (typisch < 0,1 dB)
Maximale Ausgangsspannung symmetrisch > 19 V effektiv
Maximale Ausgangsspannung unsymmetrisch > 9 V effektiv
Subsonic-Filter schaltbar; 15,9 Hz (-3 dB); 18 dB/Oktave Besselcharakteristik
Overload-Anzeige > 16 dB über 10 mV/1 kHz MM-Eingang
Verzerrungen THD & Noise < 0,001% zwischen 20 Hz und 20 kHz
Intermodulation < 0,001%
Siebkapazität > 80 000 µF
Abmessungen (B x T x H) 205 x 262 x 63 mm
Gewicht 2,4 Kilogramm
Stromversorgung
Externes Netzteil Gefilterter Ringkerntransformator mit DC Unterdrückung und Spannungsstabilisierung
Nennleistung 250 Watt
Siebkapazität > 40 000 µF
Abmessungen (B x T x H) 165 x 315 x 70 mm
Gewicht 4,1 Kilogramm
Download Manual

 

Stör- und Fremdeinflüsse im Verhältnis zum verstärkten Signal*

Keine Intermodulationsprodukte sichtbar

Keine harmonischen Störprodukte sichtbar

*Alle Messungen wurden über den MC-Eingang gemacht. Die entsprechenden Werte für eine Messung über den MM-Eingang sind typischerweise um 20 dB besser.

Das sagt die Presse über genuin pearl

Fidelity Logo

„Hier soll sich keiner vom schlichten Äußeren täuschen lassen. Walter Fuchs hat in den Genuin Audio Pearl seine ganze Erfahrung gesteckt und ein kleines Meisterwerk geschaffen, dessen Musikalität süchtig machen kann. Glückwunsch, Bravo, Zugabe!“

Michael Vrzal in FIDELITY Magazin, Ausgabe 05/2019


hifi-statement

„Bei der krassen Überdimensionierug des Netzteils Old School, bei der Auswahl der Abschlusswiderstände eher eigenwillig, überzeugt die pearl auf ganzer Linie. Walter Fuchs hat für Genuin Audio eine Spaßmaschine kreiert, der man – wenn überhaupt – nur schwer widerstehen kann!“

Dirk Sommer in HIFI STATEMENT (Oktober 2019)
hifistatement.net

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?