For questions, please call us: +49 (0) 355 38377808
  • Punches above her Weight.

  • The inside matters

Scroll down

ava Focused energy

The “Bookshelf” version of the revolutionary floor-standing loudspeaker neo by genuin audio. This compact DSP-controlled active box is based on the same principles, but more suitable for smaller spaces or interior designs where a high-end loudspeaker should appear less dominant.

Like neo, ava has a quality level which conventional passive systems can no longer reach. Using complex digital signal processing, the built-in chassis are permanently monitored and accurately driven for them to interact optimally. That way, ava achieves brilliantly the central goal of all genuin audio components with a cabinet half the size of that for neo: a genuinely dynamic, transparent and natural music reproduction.

Perfection through DSP

The heart of this fully active 3-way speaker beats digitally. A 32-bit digital processor handles all control tasks. It assigns the woofer, midrange and tweeter their respective work and makes an analogue crossover obsolete. In addition, the DSP tunes the entire speaker system perfectly in terms of its time and frequency response.

In addition to IIR filtering, there is linear-phase FIR filtering. This specific technology has been gradually perfected by the renowned ava development team since the eighties. Each individual chassis is tested for FIR filtering. Based on these individual results, tailored programming will be carried out in the DSP. This process leads to the perfect signal processing of the specific speaker. The temporal behavior of the overall system can therefore be designed with the aim of keeping the propagation speed of all frequency components in the music signal constant. The time-coherence achieved is crucial for a convincingly authentic music reproduction.

Time Coherence

In the spectrogram we recognize the excellent decay behavior of the genuin ava over the time axis (X-axis) as a function of the frequency (Y-axis).

Holography of hearing

Through the ava you can experience music in a holographic way: a voice is no longer restricted between the speakers, but flows freely in the room directly in front of you. Each instrument is individually tangible, all facets can be heard precisely – and yet the holistic experience remains in an absolutely organic sound panorama. A decisive factor for this quality is the conscious decision by the developers to use a coaxial chassis for the midrange / tweeter. The frequency range relevant for the spatial hearing is reproduced by a single, time-coherent loudspeaker unit.

200mm bass

The coaxial speaker at the front is accompanied by a side-mounted woofer. This very long-excursion 200 mm bass driver with extra-large voice coil acoustically couples below 170 hertz and frees the coax from the demanding bass processing. This allows it to focus on its core tasks in the mid / high range: building a wide stage and presenting the smallest details – always ensuring a comprehensive homogeneity.
Despite the compact cabinet format of the box, the digitally controlled woofer plays as low as 33 Hz (-6 dB) and thus almost reaches the level of the much larger floor-standing speaker neo. Even though ava is only half as voluminous in appearance, the musical experience remains excellent in every respect.

Extreme dynamics

Both speaker drivers of the ava come from the professional sector. Two aspects were pivotal here: high efficiency and maximum load capacity. The coax convinces with a sensitivity of 93 dB / m – and the bass chassis withstands up to 700 watts with very low distortion figures. These features lay the foundation for an exceptionally dynamic reproduction, which has been perfected through meticulous DSP tuning.
Intelligent digital control also ensures operational reliability: through a developer-programmed “Look-Ahead” analysis, the DSP ensures that neither speakers nor amplifiers can be overloaded.

2 x 1,000 watts

The compact ava box is supplied with the same four-channel power amplifier from Pascal Audio as the floor-standing speaker neo. That means performance in abundance. Thanks to a potent power supply, this UMAC® amplifier unit is capable of delivering 1,000 watts to each individual ava. And without a disturbing fan! Two channels of this Class D module jumper the woofer in bridge mode, while the tweeter and midrange units of the coaxial chassis are driven separately by their respective single channel.

This extraordinary combination of high acoustic sensitivity of the drivers, rich amplifier performance and optimized DSP control is responsible for the extreme dynamics, the convincing live impression and the accompanying authenticity of music reproduction by the ava of genuin audio.

Linear amplitude and phase

Amplitude frequency response (blue): The complete audio spectrum is shown with extremely low ripple. The lower cut-off frequency is 33 Hz (-6 dB).

Phase response (green): The linear progression of the phase over almost the entire frequency range (60-20,000 Hz) is the result of the linear phase FIR equalization. The slope of the phase is a measure of the group delay and the criterion for the dispersion of one frequency group (pulse signal).

Balanced sound everywhere

The genuin audio ava is preset in such a fashion that it can deliver an absolutely neutral frequency response – always starting from an optimal listening environment. But such an ideal is rare under ordinary living conditions. That is why the control software of the loudspeaker offers various options for spatial correction. In this way perfect sound outcomes can be achieved even in acoustically unprepared listening rooms.

Genuin audio supplies this DSP-controlled speaker ava with three presets. They can be selected on the rear touch panel and cover common senarios: neutral, wall position and hi-fi. For further adaptation to individual room conditions, we offer an on-site service where a trained acoustician will optimize the speaker to the respective listening situation.

„With the ava, we have proven that sound limitations are no longer inevitable in a compact cabinet. The speaker can play extremely loudly with deep bass reproduction at the same time and forms an extraordinarily dynamic spectrum, which is essential for an authentic music experience.“

Thomas Wendt
genuin audio

Purely Digital

Due to its DSP-dominated mode of operation, it makes even more sense to combine this active speaker with a source device that outputs its signal digitally – for example, the music server tars from genuin audio. In this configuration, the data remains constant at the digital level and is only converted in the last step – the allocation to the individual amplifier channels. It is much more efficient for digital sources to convert a digital signal after the DSP than before a passive crossover – as is the case with conventional loudspeakers. In addition, the DAC section of ava is perfectly adapted to its built-in amplifiers for bass, midrange and treble to maximize their potential dynamic range.

Coexistence

Despite the digital focus, a genuin audio ava can also be used purposefully in an analog-dominated context. There the analog signals are digitized via the premium AD converter module. To ensure a loss-free, true-to-original digitization of analog sources, two 24-bit converters in a special circuitry function as dual-range AD converters with 128 dB dynamic range. As a result, high-level sources (mixing consoles, studio equipment) as well as hi-fi components such as a stereo preamplifier can be connected via the symmetrical XLR ports.

Factor shape

ava is available in six finishes: black and white in satin matt or sapelli, oak, smoked oak and ash black as a veneer version. The basic dimension equals the width and depth of neo’s cabinet, only half as tall. The front section remains identical – so the same special features apply: Due to a three-dimensional edge geometry, the mid-high range is diffraction-optimized. This avoidance of edge dispersions play a part in the exceptional spatial representation – the music dissolves completely from the speaker.

In order to control the woofer chassis’ tendency to swing tremendously, the cabinet is made of MDF boards up to 54 mm thick, grooved and internally ribbed. The very generously dimensioned, flow-optimized reflex tunnel on the back supports the bass range and plays an important role in the effortless reproduction of the lowest frequencies – even at the highest volumes.

Technical Specifications

Construction principle 3-Way Digitally controlled active speaker
DSP 32 Bit Linear phase FIR-filterdesign
Amplifier 4-channel UMAC®-Class D-module
Power max. 1.000 watts
Control Touch Display
AD and DA Converter bit depth 24 bit
AD conversion dynamics 128 dB
Analog input 1 x XLR balanced
Digital input 1 x XLR AES/EBU
Pre-Sets 3: Neutral, Wall, HiFi
Speaker driver tweeter / midrange Coaxial Speakers (16.5 cm) midrange/ (25 mm) tweeter
Speaker driver woofer Woofer (20 cm) long-excursion chassis, 50 mm voice coil
Crossover frequency 170 Hz / 2000 Hz as well as 35 Hz high pass
Spikes adjustable height
Cabinet MDF (19-54 mm) satin matt black, white or oak, Sapelli, smoked oak, ash black veneer
Dimensions (height x width x depth) 557 x 256 x 437 (without spikes)
Weight 26.6 kg
Special Feature Digital room correction, on-site measurement service

The inside matters

The motto of genuin audio is perfectly reflected in this compact loudspeaker. Although moderate in size, it amazes with power, dynamism, and authority combined with extreme transparency, accuracy, and spatiality. Its internal engineering makes it a superior product.

The optimized down to the last detail DSP control of the drivers used, the precisely allotted power supply via the four internal amplifier channels plus the adaptation to room conditions lead to a listening experience traditional passive-constructed loudspeakers can no longer offer. Especially not in the living-room-friendly compact dimension of ava.

The neo-initiated generational change in loudspeaker construction is going to the next level with the ava: a better sonic fulfillment in this size will not be found elsewhere. Save yourself the search – get to know ava …

Did we draw your interest?

Achtung! Perreaux & AudioSolutions jetzt im Vertrieb von Cottbus HiFi. Mehr Informationen hier.
Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an: +49 (0) 355 38377808
  • Keine Frage der Größe.

  • The inside matters.

Scroll down

ava Fokussierte Energie

Die „Bookshelf“-Version des revolutionären Standlautsprechers neo von genuin audio. Diese kompakte DSP-kontrollierte Aktiv-Box basiert auf den gleichen Prinzipien, eignet sich jedoch besser für kleinere Räume oder Einrichtungskonzepte, wo ein High End-Lautsprecher optisch weniger dominant auftreten soll.

Wie neo befindet sich ava auf einem Qualitätsplateau, welches herkömmliche Passiv-Konstruktionen nicht mehr erklimmen können. Mittels komplexer digitaler Signalverarbeitung werden die verbauten Chassis permanent kontrolliert und passgenau angesteuert, um optimal interagieren können. So erreicht ava auch aus einem gegenüber neo um die Hälfte verkleinerten Gehäuse auf fulminante Art und Weise das Kernziel aller genuin audio-Komponenten: eine live-haftige, durchsichtige und natürliche Musikwiedergabe.

Perfektion durch DSP

Das Herz dieses vollaktiven 3-Wege-Lautsprechers schlägt digital. Ein 32-Bit-Digitalprozessor übernimmt alle Steuerungsaufgaben. Er weist Tief-, Mittel- und Hochtöner ihren jeweiligen Arbeitsbereich zu und macht eine analoge Frequenzweiche obsolet. Zusätzlich stimmt der DSP das komplette Lautsprechersystem in seinem Zeit- und Frequenzverhalten perfekt ab.

Neben der IIR-Filterung findet dabei eine linearphasige FIR-Filterung statt. Diese spezifische Technologie hat das renommierte Entwickler-Team der ava seit den achtziger Jahren Schritt für Schritt bis zur Vollendung perfektioniert. Für die FIR-Filterung wird jedes einzelne Chassis vermessen. Auf der Grundlage dieser individuellen Resultate erfolgt eine passgenaue Programmierung im DSP. Dieser Vorgang führt zur perfekten Signalverarbeitung des spezifischen Schallwandlers. So kann das zeitliche Verhalten des Gesamtsystems mit dem Ziel gestaltet werden, die Ausbreitungsgeschwindigkeit aller Frequenzanteile im Musiksignal konstant zu halten. Die erreichte Zeitrichtigkeit ist entscheidend für eine überzeugend authentische Musikreproduktion.

 
 

Zeitrichtigkeit

Im Spektrogramm erkennen wir das exzellente Ausschwingverhalten der genuin ava über der Zeitachse (X-Achse) in Abhängigkeit der Frequenz (Y-Achse).

Holographie des Hörens

Über die ava erleben Sie Musik auf holographische Art: eine Stimme ist nicht mehr zwischen den Boxen fixiert, sondern erklingt direkt vor Ihnen frei im Raum. Jedes Instrument wirkt einzeln greifbar, alle Facetten sind präzise herauszuhören – und dennoch bleibt die Ganzheitlichkeit der Erfahrung in einem absolut organischen Klangpanorama gewahrt. Ein entscheidender Faktor für diese Qualität ist die bewusste Entscheidung der Entwickler, im Mittel/Hochton-Bereich ein Koaxial-Chassis einzusetzen. So wird der für das räumliche Hören relevante Frequenzbereich von einer einzigen, zeitlich kohärent abstrahlenden Lautsprechereinheit wiedergegeben.

Zweihunderter Bass

Den auf der Vorderseite sichtbaren Koaxial-Lautsprecher begleitet ein seitlich montierter Tieftöner. Dieses sehr langhubige 200-mm-Basschassis mit extra großer Schwingspule koppelt akustisch unterhalb von 170 Hertz an und befreit den Koax von der fordernden Bassverarbeitung. So kann dieser sich auf seine Kern-Aufgaben im Mittel/Hochtonbereich konzentrieren: das Aufziehen einer weiten Bühne und die Darlegung der kleinsten Details – immer unter Sicherstellung einer umfassenden Homogenität.
Trotz des kompakten Gehäuseformats der Box spielt der digital kontrollierte Woofer hinunter bis 33 Hz (-6 dB) und erreicht somit fast das Niveau des deutlich größeren Standlautsprechers neo. Auch wenn ava in der Erscheinung nur halb so raumgreifend ist – die Musikerfahrung bleibt in jeder Hinsicht groß(artig).

Extreme Dynamik

Beide Lautsprechertreiber der ava stammen aus dem professionellen Bereich. Zwei Aspekte waren hierbei ausschlaggebend: hoher Wirkungsgrad und maximale Belastbarkeit. Der Koax überzeugt mit einer Empfindlichkeit von 93 dB dB/m – und das Bass-Chassis verarbeitet bis zu 700 Watt bei gleichzeitig sehr geringen Verzerrungswerten. Diese Eigenschaften legen den Grundstein für eine außergewöhnlich dynamische Wiedergabe, welche durch akribische DSP-Anpassung weiter perfektioniert worden ist.

Die intelligente digitale Kontrolle sorgt auch für Betriebssicherheit: über eine von den Entwicklern eigens programmierte „Look Ahead“-Analyse stellt der DSP sicher, dass weder Lautsprecher noch Verstärker überlastet werden können.

2 x 1.000 Watt

Die Kompaktbox ava wird mit der gleichen vierkanaligen Endstufe von Pascal Audio wie der Standlautsprecher neo versorgt. Das bedeutet: Leistung im Überfluss. Dank einer potenten Stromversorgung ist diese UMAC®-Verstärkereinheit in der Lage, jeder einzelnen ava 1.000 Watt an Leistung zuzuführen. Und zwar ohne störenden Lüfter! Zwei Kanäle dieses Class D-Moduls bespielen gebrückt den Tieftöner, während Hoch- und Mittelton-Einheit des Koaxial-Chassis jeweils separat von einem Kanal angesteuert werden.

Diese außergewöhnliche Verbindung aus hoher akustischer Empfindlichkeit der Treiber, reichhaltiger Verstärkerleistung und optimierender DSP-Steuerung ist verantwortlich für die extreme Dynamik, den überzeugenden Live-Eindruck und jene damit einhergehende Glaubwürdigkeit der Musikwiedergabe über die ava von genuin audio.

Lineare Amplitude und Phase

Amplitudenfrequenzgang (blau): Das komplette Audio-Spektrum wird mit äußerst geringer Welligkeit abgebildet. Die untere Grenzfrequenz liegt bei 33 Hz (-6 dB).

Phasengang (grün): Der lineare Verlauf der Phase über den nahezu den kompletten Frequenzbereich (60-20.000 Hz) ist das Ergebnis der linearphasigen FIR-Entzerrung. Die Steigung der Phase ist ein Maß für die Gruppenlaufzeit und das Kriterium für die Dispersion einer Frequenzgruppe (Impulssignal).

Ausgewogener Klang überall

Die genuin audio Ava ist ab Werk so eingestellt, dass sie ein absolut neutrales Frequenzverhalten präsentieren kann – immer ausgehend von einer optimalen Abhörumgebung. Doch ein solches Ideal ist unter gewöhnlichen Wohnsituationen im seltensten Fall gegeben. Deswegen offeriert die Control-Software der Lautsprecherbox vielfältige Optionen zur Raumkorrektur. Auf diese Art können auch in akustisch nicht präparierten Hörräumen perfekte Klangerlebnisse realisiert werden.

genuin audio liefert diesen DSP-gesteuerten Schallwandler ava mit drei Presets aus. Sie sind auf dem rückwärtigen Touch-Display anzuwählen und decken übliche Gegebenheiten ab: Neutral, Wandposition und HiFi. Zur tiefergehenden individuellen Anpassung an individuelle räumliche Bedingungen bieten wir einen Vor-Ort-Service an, bei dem ein geschulter Akustiker den Lautsprecher optimal auf die jeweilige Hörsituation abstimmt.

„Mit der ava haben wir den Beweis erbracht, dass in einem kompakten Gehäuse klangliche Einschränkungen nicht mehr zwangsläufig sind. Der Lautsprecher kann bei gleichzeitig tiefreichender Basswiedergabe extrem laut spielen und bildet ein außergewöhnliches Dynamikspektrum ab, das essentiell ist für eine glaubwürdige Musikerfahrung.“

Thomas Wendt
genuin audio

Pur Digital

Durch seine DSP-geprägte Funktionsweise ist es ausnehmend sinnvoll, diesen Aktivlautsprecher mit einem Quellgerät zu kombinieren, welches sein Signal digital ausgibt – zum Beispiel den Musikserver tars von genuin audio. In dieser Verbindung verbleiben die Daten konstant auf der Digital-Ebene und werden erst im letzten Schritt konvertiert – der Zuweisung auf die einzelnen Verstärker-Kanäle. Bei digitalen Quellen ist es viel effizienter, ein Digital-Signal erst hinter dem DSP zu wandeln, als vor einer passiven Frequenzweiche – wie es bei konventionellen Lautsprechern erfolgt. Zudem ist die DAC-Sektion von ava perfekt auf ihre integrierten Verstärker für Bass, Mitten und Höhen abgestimmt, um den potentiellen Dynamikbereich maximal auszuschöpfen.

Koexistenz

Trotz des digitalen Fokus lässt sich eine genuin audio ava auch in einem analog geprägten Zusammenhang zielführend einsetzen. Hierfür werden die Analog-Signale über den hochklassigen AD-Converter-Baustein digitalisiert. Um eine verlustfreie originalgetreue Digitalisierung analoger Quellen zu gewährleisten, arbeiten zwei 24 Bit-Wandler in einer speziellen Verschaltung als Dual-Range-AD-Converter mit 128 dB-Dynamikumfang. In der Konsequenz können Hochpegel-Quellen (Mischpulte, Studiotechnik) sowie HiFi-Komponenten wie ein Stereo-Vorverstärker über die symmetrischen XLR-Eingänge angeschlossen werden.

Faktor Form

ava ist in sechs Ausführungen erhältlich: Schwarz und Weiß in Seidenmattlack oder Sapelli, Eiche, Räuchereiche und Esche Schwarz als Furnier-Variante. Die grundsätzliche Formatierung entspricht in Breite und Tiefe dem Gehäuse des neo, es wurde lediglich um die Hälfte gekürzt. Die Frontpartie bleibt identisch – damit gelten auch die gleichen Vorzüge: Durch eine dreidimensional verlaufende Kantengeometrie ist der Mittelhochton-Bereich beugungsoptimiert. Dieses Vermeiden von Kantendispersionen hat einen relevanten Anteil an der ausnehmend räumlichen Darstellung – die Musik löst sich vollkommen vom Lautsprecher.

Um den Bewegungsdrang des hubstarken Tieftonchassis zu kontrollieren, wird das Gehäuse aus bis zu 54-mm-starken MDF-Platten gefertigt, genutet und intern verrippt. Der sehr großzügig dimensionierte, strömungsoptimierte Reflex-Tunnel auf der Rückseite unterstützt den Bassbereich und hat einen wichtigen Anteil an der mühelosen Wiedergabe der untersten Frequenzen – selbst bei höchsten Abhörpegeln.

Technische Daten

Konstruktionsprinzip 3-Wege Digital-Aktivlautsprecher
DSP 32 Bit Linearphasiges FIR-Filterdesign
Verstärker 4-Kanal UMAC®-Class D-Module
Leistung Maximal 1.000 Watt
Bedienung Touch Display
AD und DA-Wandler Bit-Tiefe 24 Bit
AD-Wandlung Dynamik 128 dB
Eingang Analog 1 x XLR symmetrisch
Eingang Digital 1 x XLR AES/EBU
Pre-Sets 3: Neutral, Wand, HiFi
Lautsprechertreiber Hoch/Mittelton Koaxial-Lautsprecher (16,5 cm) Mittelton / (25 mm) Hochton
Lautsprechertreiber Tiefton Tiefton-Lautsprecher (20 cm) Langhubchassis, 50 mm-Schwingspule
Übergangsfrequenzen 170 Hz / 2000 Hz sowie 35 Hz Hochpass
Spikes Höhenverstellbar
Gehäuse MDF (19-54 mm) Seidenmattlack Schwarz, Weiß oder Furnier Eiche, Sapelli, Räuchereiche, Esche Schwarz
Abmessungen (Höhe x Breite x Tiefe) 557 x 256 x 437 (ohne Spikes) Gewicht 26,6 Kg
Gewicht 26,6 Kg
Besonderes Ausstattungsmerkmal Digitale Raumkorrektur

The inside matters

Das Motto von genuin audio erlebt gerade bei diesem kompakten Lautsprecher seine perfekte Umsetzung. Obgleich moderat in den Abmessungen, verblüfft er durch Kraft, Dynamik und Autorität, zu der sich extreme Transparenz, Ortungsschärfe und Räumlichkeit gesellen. Seine im Inneren wirkende Technik macht ihn zu diesem überlegenen Produkt.

Die bis in das letzte Detail optimierte DSP-Kontrolle der verwendeten Treiber, eine exakt bemessene Leistungszufuhr über die vier internen Verstärkerkanäle plus die Anpassung an räumliche Gegebenheiten führen zu einem Hörerlebnis, welches traditionell passiv konstruierte Lautsprecher nicht mehr bereitstellen können. Insbesondere nicht in dem wohnraumfreundlichen Kompaktformat der ava.

Der mit dem neo eingeleitete Generationswechsel im Lautsprecherbau erfährt mit der ava seine nächste Stufe: Mehr klangliche Erfüllung in dieser Größe wird nicht zu finden sein. Ersparen Sie sich die Suche – lernen Sie ava kennen…

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?