Oct. 26th & 27th, 2019 HIGH END SWISS | Mövenpick Hotel – Zürich-Regensdorf

For questions, please call us: +49 (0) 355 38377808

Safely on point.

Scroll down

point The Definite Unipivot Tonearm

The genuin point tonearm transports the fragile signal of the cartridge with maximum precision and absolute neutrality. point “disappears” as a sound-influencing element in the playback chain. It is solely a neutral agent between the cartridge and the phono amplifier. This 10-inch tonearm developed exclusively for genuin audio is based on a reinterpretation of the proven principle of the unipivot-bearing. However, the point comes without the known disadvantages of this principle like uncontrolled vertical tilting. That’s over. This makes the genuin audio point the perfect unipivot tonearm.


Unipivot Bearing logically thought out

In the genuin audio point, the unipivot bearing in the upper part of the arm is composed of different ball bearing elements. The geometry is adapted to precise guidance in the horizontal plane and to exactly one fixed pivot point.
The bearing tip consists of an adjusting screw with a welded hardened bearing ball. The centre of this sphere is the centre of rotation of the tonearm, which remains invariable in every position of the entire tonearm.
The bearing is absolutely play-free and yet extremely damped. The feared ‘unipivot tilting’ is thus avoided. Instead, the tonearm displays a high degree of mobility, flexibility and non-inertia in the rotary movement. The excellent horizontal guidance results in an extremely clear spatial presentation of the vinyl reproduction.

Cut through the Bearing Centre

The bearing point is shown, consisting of an adjusting screw with a welded bearing ball. Below that is the bearing assembly in the base top. This is rotatable for the VTA setting and complete with 3 O-rings. The tight fitting of the O-rings ensures the rigid connection to the lower part and thus to the subchassis.

The horizontal azimuth setting as well as the anti-skating ring and the stylus from the cartridge are located on the 0-plane of the bearing.

Substantive Base

point_doku_11a

One of the core beliefs of genuin audio is the need to avoid any form of sound-coloring external influences. Therefore, the joint of the tonearm to the drive is extremely stable and low-resonance. The height-adjustable upper part of the arm is guided and effectively damped via a particularly massive M8 thread and three O-rings. The tonearm top has two extremely low-lying counterweights. These are mounted for adjustment to different kind of cartridges. These weights carry out the basic adjustment of the tonearm. The exact adjustment of the tracking force is effected via the central weight.

“The point is the uncompromising development of a tonearm I designed in 1978. All the experiences of the years and several hundred development projects since have been incorporated into the work and make the point what it is today.”

Helmut Thiele
Developer of genuin Point

Anti-skating on Bearing Level

A transversely arranged, adjustable weight is arranged for adjusting the azimuth. The anti-skating force is handled via a weight on a string exactly in the plane of the single-point bearing. This plane is at the same time also the plane of the tracking diamond stylus. Therefore, any forces during the tracking of the record have no moment for the rotation of the entire tonearm and thus for the change of the tracking geometries.

point_doku_08a


Carbon and Aluminium

The tonearm is made of carbon, since this material combines lightness and stability in an ideal manner. The headshell of the tonearm genuin audio point, which is bonded to the thin-walled tonearm tube, is made of aluminium. The relatively high weight of the headshell contributes to the stiffness and ensures maximum mass inertia in the area of the cartridge. Again, it is also necessary here to avoid unwanted signal influences, because of resonance as an example. This approach continues in the inside of the tonearm.

“…a tonearm that provides best tracking with a variety of cartridges…”

Helmut Rohrwild
HiFi & Records 04-2016

Eliminating External Vibrations

The carbon tube is bonded over a large area both to the support of the counterweights and to the support of the unipivot bearing tip. The vibrations induced in a typical tonearm tube are effectively damped by a combination of several elements installed in the carbon tube. This applies to low-frequency as well as to high-frequency vibrations.

point-daempfung


Multiple Damping Elements

The largest resonance vibration of the carbon tube is to be found approximately in the middle of the length of the tube. At precisely this point, a damping element made of Visco foam was inserted, which is connected to a concentric inner tube, also made of carbon.

This second tube is at the front connected relatively firmly with the headshell over an O-ring and glued to a weight at the other end, right by the pivot. By means of this arrangement, the low-frequency vibration energy is transmitted from the outer tube via the Visco foam and the inner tube to the free-swinging inner weight and is largely absorbed. Higher-frequency vibrations with a small amplitude are soaked up by the large-area Visco foam.

This arrangement ensures that all elements for damping contribute only insignificantly to the moving mass of the tonearm. The only heavy weight is so close to the center of gravity that its influence is very small. These complex attenuations of different intensities at precisely determined positions ensure that no interfering resonances add color to the transmission.


Continuous Cabling

To minimize the number of interfering solder points and signal interrupts, the tonearm cable is wired through. It leads directly from the four sockets on the pickup connector to the connector for the drive. This is a high quality plug from LEMO. The genuin audio drive also has the LEMO connector.

Quick Exchange

The design of the point allows the use of several different tonearm tops on one tonearm base. This is ideal for comparing cartridges or using a special mono-pick-up for a mono record. After a one-time adjustment, the tonearm upper parts can be pre-set. They are then exchanged with minimal effort. Only the anti-skating string needs to be hung. Done.

Technical Specifications

Principle Unipivot tonearm
Geometry 10″ Baerwald Löfgren
Effective Length 254mm (10″)
Overhang 16.2 mm
Offset Angle 21.6°
Special Features • special unipivot bearing construction with bearing bush and bearing point
• Bearing bushing made of ball bearing elements, geometry matched to precise guidance in the horizontal plane to exactly one fixed pivot point
• Bearing point consisting of adjusting screw and welded bearing ball
• Bearing absolutely play-free and yet extremely damped, no unipivot tilting
• Tone base adjustable for VTA
• Tonearm azimuth adjustable by means of adjustable balancing weight
• Basic adjustment by means of adjustable weight cylinders
• Extremely low-lying counterweights for stable position
• Tracking force adjustment by damped rotatable weight
• Solid aluminium headshell for optimum stiffness
• Tonearm tube made of carbon fibre
• Tonearm tube dampened by inner second carbon tube and tuned resonance weight
• Anti-skating with adjustable weight and micro-string on the level of the unipivot bearing without influence on VTA
• Connection with high quality LEMO plugs and sockets
• Tonearm top detachable and replaceable against pre-set additional tonearm tops with alternative cartridges
Download Manual

Press comments on the genuin point

Fidelity Logo

“A perfect single-point tonearm that purposely eliminates the pitfalls of this principle. … For a uni-pivot tonearm, the imaging precision and the clear focus of the point are probably unique. … Regardless of the price tag, the thoughtfully designed and easy-to-use tonearm presents itself on a par with some of the finest exponents of its kind.”

Helmut Hack in Fidelity Magazine, Ausgabe 01/2018

Download Review

Did we draw your interest?

30. September – 01. Oktober 2017 Westdeutsche HiFi-Tage | Bonn – Maritim Hotel

Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an: +49 (0) 355 38377808

Sicher auf dem Punkt.

Scroll down

Point Der endgültige Einpunkt-Tonarm

Der Tonarm Genuin Point transportiert das fragile Signal des Tonabnehmers maximal präzise und absolut neutral. Der Point „verschwindet“ als klangbeeinflussendes Element in der Wiedergabe-Kette. Er ist ausschließlich Vermittler zwischen Tonabnehmersystem und Phono-Verstärker. Dieser exklusiv für Genuin Audio entwickelte 10 Zoll-Tonarm basiert auf einer Neuinterpretation des bewährten Prinzips der Einpunkt-Lagerung. Jedoch ohne dessen Nachteile, dem unkontrollierten Kippeln in der Vertikalen. Das ist vorbei. So wird der Genuin Audio Point zum perfekten Einpunkt-Tonarm.


Einpunkt-Lagerung konsequent gedacht

Beim Genuin Audio Point setzt sich das Einpunkt-Lager im Oberteil des Armes aus verschiedenen Kugellager-Elementen zusammen. Die Geometrie ist abgestimmt auf präzise Führung in horizontaler Ebene und auf exakt einen fixierten Drehpunkt. Die Lagerspitze besteht aus einer Einstellschraube mit aufgeschweisster gehärteter Lagerkugel. Die Mitte dieser Kugel ist der Drehpunkt des Tonarmes, welcher in jeder Position des gesamten Tonarmes unveränderlich bleibt. Die Lagerung ist absolut spielfrei und trotzdem extrem bedämpft. Das gefürchtete ’Einpunkt-Kippeln‘ wird so vermieden. Stattdessen kann er ein Höchstmaß an Beweglichkeit, Flexibilität und Nichtträgheit in der Drehbewegung realisieren. Die exzellente horizontale Führung resultiert in einer extrem klaren räumlichen Abbildung der Schallplattenwiedergabe.

Schnitt durch die Lagermitte

Dargestellt ist die Lagerspitze, bestehend aus einer Einstellschraube mit aufgeschweisster, gehärteter Lagerkugel. Darunter die Lager-Baugruppe im Basis-Oberteil. Dieses ist für VTA-Einstellung drehbar und mit 3 O-Ringen geführt. Die stramme Einpassung der O-Ringe sorgt für die steife Verbindung zum Unterteil und somit zum Subchassis.

Die horizontale Azimuth-Einstellung befindet sich ebenso wie der Antiskating-Ring und der Diamant vom Tonabnehmer auf der 0-Ebene des Lagers.

Substanzielle Basis

point_doku_11a

Eine der Kernüberzeugungen von Genuin Audio ist die Notwendigkeit, jedwede Form von klangfärbenden Außeneinflüssen zu vermeiden. Deswegen geriet die Verbindung von Tonarm zum Laufwerk extrem stabil und resonanzarm. So wird das höhenverstellbare Oberteil des Armes über ein besonders massives M8-Gewinde und drei O-Ringen geführt und wirksam bedämpft. Das Tonarm-Oberteil verfügt über zwei extrem tief gelagerte Gegengewichte. Diese sind zur Anpassung an verschiedene Tonabnehmer verschiebbar montiert. Mit diesen Gewichten wird die Grundeinstellung des Tonarmes vorgenommen, die exakte Einstellung der Auflagekraft erfolgt über das zentrale Einstellgewicht.

„Der Point ist die kompromisslose Weiterentwicklung eines Tonarmes, den ich 1978 gestaltet habe. Alle Erfahrungen der folgenden Jahre und mehrerer hundert Entwicklungsprojekte sind bei der Arbeit eingeflossen und machen den Point zu dem, was er ist.“

Helmut Thiele
Entwickler Genuin Point

Antiskating auf Lagerebene

Für die Einstellung des Azimuth ist ein quer angeordnetes, verstellbares Gewicht angeordnet. Die Antiskating-Kraft wird über ein Gewicht an einem Faden exakt in der Ebene des Einpunkt-Lagers eingeleitet. Diese Ebene ist gleichzeitig auch die Ebene des abtastenden Diamanten. Deswegen haben jegliche Kräfte beim Abtasten der Schallplatte kein Moment zur Verdrehung des gesamten Tonarmes und damit zur Veränderung der Abtast-Geometrien.

point_doku_08a


Carbon und Aluminium

Der Tonarm wird aus Carbon gefertigt, da das Material Leichtigkeit und Stabilität idealtypisch miteinander verbindet. Das mit dem dünnwandigen Tonarmrohr verklebte Headshell des Genuin Audio Point hingegen ist aus Aluminium. Das relativ hohe Gewicht des Headshells trägt hier zur Steifheit bei und sorgt für maximale Massenträgheit im Bereich des Tonabnehmers. Wieder gilt es auch hier, ungewünschte Signalbeeinflussungen etwa durch Resonanzen zu vermeiden. Dieser Ansatz setzt sich im Innen des Tonarmes fort.

„… ein Tonarm, der mit verschiedensten Tonabnehmern beste Rillenauslese liefert…“

Helmut Rohrwild
HiFi & Records 04-2016

Eliminieren der Fremdschwingungen

Das Carbonrohr ist ebenfalls grossflächig sowohl mit dem Träger für die Gegengewichte als auch der Aufnahme der Einpunkt-Lagerspitze verklebt. Die in jedem Tonarmrohr induzierten Schwingungen werden durch eine Kombination aus mehreren im Carbonrohr verbauten Elementen wirksam bedämpft. Das gilt für niederfrequente Schwingungen ebenso wie für hochfrequente Schwingungen.

point-daempfung


Multiple Dämpfungselemente

Die größte Resonanzschwingung des Carbonrohres ist etwa in der Mitte der Länge des Rohres festzustellen. An dieser Stelle wurde ein Dämpfungselement aus Viscoschaum eingefügt, welches an ein konzentrisch zum Außenrohr liegendes Innenrohr, ebenfalls aus Carbon ankoppelt. Dieses zweite Rohr ist vorne mit dem Headshell relativ steif über einen O-Ring verbunden und am anderen Ende, direkt im Bereich des Tonarm-Drehpunktes mit einem Gewicht verklebt. Durch diese Anordnung wird die niederfrequente Schwingungsenergie vom Aussenrohr über den Viscoschaum und das Innenrohr an das frei schwingende Innengewicht übertragen und weitgehend absorbiert.

Höherfrequente Schwingungen mit kleiner Amplitude werden über den grossflächig innen anliegenden Visco-Schaum absorbiert. Diese Anordnung sorgt dafür, dass alle Elemente zu Bedämpfung nur unwesentlich zur bewegten Masse des Tonarmes beitragen. Das einzig schwere Innengewicht liegt so nahe am Drehpunkt, dass auch dieser Einfluss klein ist. Diese aufwändigen Bedämpfungen unterschiedlicher Intensitäten an präzise ermittelten Position sorgen dafür, dass keine störenden Resonanzen die Übertragung einfärben.


Durchgehende Verkabelung

Um die Anzahl von störenden Lötpunkten und Signalunterbrechungen drastisch minimieren, ist das Tonarmkabel durchverkabelt. Es führt von den vier Buchsen beim Tonabnehmerkontakt ohne Unterbrechung direkt zum Verbindungsstecker für das Laufwerk. Hier handelt es sich um einen hochwertigen Stecker der Marke LEMO. Das Genuin Audio Laufwerk Drive verfügt über die passende LEMO-Buchse.

Schneller Wechsel

Die Konstruktion des Point ermöglich es, auf einer Tonarm-Basis alternativ mehrere verschiedene Tonarm-Oberteile zu verwenden. Das ist ideal etwa um Tonabnehmer direkt zu vergleichen oder einen Mono-Abtaster für entsprechende Schallplatten einzusetzen. Nach einmaliger Justage können die Tonarm-Oberteile voreingestellt bereitgehalten werden. Sie werden dann mit wenigen Handgriffen ausgetauscht. Lediglich der Antiskating-Faden ist einzuhängen. Fertig.

Technische Daten

Prinzip Einpunkt-gelagerter Tonarm
Geometrie 10″ Baerwald Löfgren
Effektive Länge 254mm (10″)
Überhang 16,2 mm
Kröpfungswinkel 21,6°
Besonderheiten • Einpunkt-Lager Spezialkonstruktion mit Lagerbuchse und Lagerspitze
• Lagerbuchse aus Kugellager-Elementen, Geometrie abgestimmt auf präzise Führung in horizontaler Ebene auf exakt einen fixierten Drehpunkt
• Lagerspitze bestehend aus Einstellschraube und aufgeschweisster gehärteter Lagerkugel
• Lagerung absolut spielfrei und trotzdem extrem bedämpft, kein ‚Einpunkt-Kippeln‘
• Tonarmbasis höhenverstellbar für VTA
• Tonarm Azimuth einstellbar durch verstellbares Ausgleichsgewicht
• Basiseinstellung durch verschiebbare Gewichtszylinder
• Extrem tief gelagerte Gegengewichte für stabile Lage
• Auflagekraft-Einstellung durch bedämpftes drehbares Gewicht
• Massives Aluminium-Headshell für optimale Steifheit
• Tonarmrohr aus Carbon
• Tonarmrohr bedämpft durch innenliegendes zweites Carbon-Rohr und abgestimmtes Resonanz-Gewicht
• Antiskating mit einstellbarem Gewicht und Micro-Faden auf der Ebene des Einpunkt-Lagers ohne Einfluss auf VTA
• Anschluss mit hochwertigen LEMO Steckern und Buchsen
• Tonarm-Oberteil abnehmbar und auswechselbar gegen voreingestellte weitere Tonarm-Oberteile mit alternativen Tonabnehmern

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?