October 21st – October 22nd, 2017 Analog Forum | Krefeld

For questions, please call us: +49 (0) 355 38377808

Strength is to be found in serenity.

Scroll down

Drive
The Perfect Turntable

Genuin Drive is a turntable that makes itself acoustically invisible. The main goal of its development was to avoid the addition of vibrations that are not originally present on the vinyl. This high-end record player does not have a sound, but a single task: to reproduce music in its pure form without any distortion.

For this purpose, it is essential to keep the extremely fragile process of record tracking away from all harmful external influences – whether it’s impact noise or any form of resonance. Such overlapping of the actual music signal leads to the music unfolding unnaturally. In order to avoid these impairments, the record must be “calmed” during the playback process. That’s what the Genuin Audio drive does. With impressive results – you now hear pure music.


Torsion Bar Concept

The drive is based on a sub chassis design, in which three torsion bars carry the suspension. Each of the three height-adjustable spring elements can be individually tuned to an identical resonant frequency of the sub chassis-independent of the respective load of the three spring positions. This avoids uncontrollable tumbling movements of the sub chassis. The turntable immediately returns to its default position after an impulse. The feared repeated oscillation of the sub chassis drive does not take place here.

Each of the three bearings consists of a base plate that is pivoted on the plate made of artificial stone. The tensioned torsion spring consists of two superimposed spring plates made of high-precision spring material. The twisting produces the required spring force and the friction between the two spring plates during the twisting produces the desired damping, so that vibrations quickly decay. The rubber element connects the spring arm to the sub chassis and ensures a coordinated horizontal guidance. Once it has been set at the factory, the position of the sub chassis in the housing never changes again.

Multi-stage Damping

The sub chassis, made of high-damping, foamed aluminium material, is a carrier for the plate bearing, the motor unit and the arm board. The motor unit and the arm board are each mounted via rubber composite elements and made of artificial stone. Both are coupled to the sub chassis via high-attenuation material to eliminate vibrations. The drive motor is intentionally positioned on the sub chassis to connect the platter and the drive as firmly as possible together. The base of the record player is a sandwich made of MDF and artificial stone with an intermediate damping layer of cork. The artificial stone slab carries the three torsion bar spring bearings and is screwed to the outer housing, which is made of MDF.

These measures have been taken to produce multiple damping effects by combining different materials at as many (contact) points as possible. The potentially harmful external influence of the drive itself on the vinyl reproduction is eliminated. This concept continues with the platter. It is a sandwich construction consisting of two artificial stone washers with a dampening intermediate layer. The bearing for the platter is a 10mm slide bearing with axial bearing over a steel ball on a support plate made of Delrin.

“When designing the Drive, I followed the principle of selecting and combining known and proven materials and techniques in such a way that a maximum result is achieved. In my 35-year experience as a designer and developer for very different industries, I was able to draw from a wealth of experience.”

Helmut Thiele
Developer of Genuin Drive

Fine Tuning

The three independently adjustable torsion spring elements are mounted on the base plate. At the factory, the drive is aligned to a resonance frequency of 4.5 – 5 Hz. However, the height adjustment can be adjusted from below the floor of the Drive if additional weights such as pucks affect the position of the sub chassis.

The platter is driven by a synchronous motor via a round belt. The belt tension can be varied within a range of ±5 mm. In this way, the ratio of the musical drive and the smoothness can be adapted to your own preferences. Both of these are set on the top of the unit. There is also a keypad with illuminated buttons for on/off and speed selection. The two speeds 33 1/3 and 45 rpm can be adjusted by means of a potentiometer on the back of the Drive. The motor is driven by an internal motor control, while the power supply is by means of an external power supply.

The Premotec engine is bolted onto a motor carrier made of POM, which in turn is pivoted on the engine board made of artificial stone. The entire motor board is bolted to the sub chassis by means of three rubber compound elements, with an additional damping element between the sub chassis plate and the artificial stone plate effectively dampening the engine vibrations.

Point-accurate Partnership

The turntable Drive has a congenial partner in Genuin Audio’s tonearm Point. The tonearm is screwed to the arm board with its base tube of 18 millimetres by means of a massive pressure plate and an M8 screw, which is of particular importance for a “crisp”, sharply accentuated reproduction. In this way, again, sound-damaging influences by externally applied vibrations are avoided.

point-slider-1

The high-quality LEMO socket, which connects the tonearm cable to the balanced XLR or RCA jacks, is integrated into the arm board. The high-quality cable was wired all the way through to reduce interference points. It is ready for the perfect partner – the Genuin Audio MC cartridge Sting.

Variations

A Genuin Drive can be manufactured in different versions for you. Depending on the customer’s requirements, the Drive includes, in addition to the motor control, the tonearm Point, the cartridge Sting or the integrated phono preamp Pearl with symmetrical signal routing for MC cartridges and a variety of setting options.

An attractive package price is offered for this complete version.

Technical Specifications

Chassis Base mounted on 3 spikes, sandwich construction made of MDF/cork/Corian
Subchassis made of high-damping, porous aluminium material
Subchassis Suspension by means of self-damping torsion springs
Torsion Bars self-damping, adjustable in spring rate and resonance frequency
Torsion Bar Adjustment 3 adjustment points at the bottom
Motor Board Corian, decoupled and damped
Drive Synchronous motor and specially developed control electronics
Keypad illuminated, for 0, 33 1/3, and 45 rpm
Fine Adjustment at the rear with potentiometers, for 33 1/3 and 45 rpm
Power Supply external
Motor Pulley Material POM
Belt round cord, adjustable distance 10 mm
Sliding Plate Bearing 10 millimetre plain bearing, mounted on steel ball and Delrin support plate
Turntable Corian sandwich construction (2x) with damping self-adhesive intermediate layer
Arm Board made of Corian, high-strength bolted in the tonearm area base, decoupled and the remaining area dampened
Plinth two-part; MDF plus real wood side framing
Download Manual

 

Phono Preamplifier Pearl

Suitable For Moving Coil (MC) / Moving Magnet (MM)
Construction (MC) symmetrical
Resistance Loading (MC) 2 kOhm, 1 kOhm, 500 Ohm, 250 Ohm, 125 Ohm
Gain (MC) 20, 22, 24, 26, 28 dB
Common Mode Rejection > 90 dB between 20 Hz and 20 kHz
Signal-to-noise ratio at 61 dB gain (MC) > 62 dB linear / > 70 dB Awtd / > 69 dB CCIR 2k
Resistance Loading (MM) 47 kOhm
Capacitance Loading (MM) 50pF, 100pF, 150pF, 200pF, 250pF
Equalization (MM) RIAA without Neumann Time constant
RIAA Tolerance (MM) < +- 0.3 dB (< 0.1 dB is typical)
Channel Offset (MM) < 0.15 dB
Gain (MM) 37 dB, 39 dB, 41 dB, 43 dB, 45 dB
Signal-to-noise Ratio at 41 dB gain (dB) > 83 dB linear / > 90 dB Awtd / > 89 dB CCIR 2k
Subsonic Filter switchable; 15Hz/18dB/Octave Butterworth
Overload Indication > 16 dB over 10 mV/1 kHz MM input
THD & Noise Distortion < 0.001% between 20 Hz and 20 kHz
Intermodulation 19 kHz / 20 kHz < 0.001%
Headroom > 20 dB; each for MM and MC
Output Resistance 50 Ohm
Power Supply external, ring core transformer 250 V, line filter
Download Manual

Press comments on the Genuin Drive

“Genuin Audio will probably not get a extraordinary design award for Drive. However, chief executive Thomas Wendt has created an amazingly different and yet markedly coherent record player with his two developers.
If you want to enjoy every facet of the performance, with a natural timbre and a livelike panorama, then Genuin Audio will be right for you. I must highly recommend Drive to passionate music lovers.”

Josef Bruckmoser in image hifi, 04/2017

Download Review

hifi-records.png

“This analogue ensemble delivered a very solid performance and is characterized by absolute calmness against a deep black background – this is very much top quality class. […] A non-interfering drive, a tonearm that provides best groove tracking with a wide range of cartridges, and an integrated phono stage for excellent phono signal conversion team up with the MC Sting as a top-of-the-line analogue package. This earns the Drive a recommendation that is strengthened by the flexibility with regard to the choice of a cartridge. The price for it is completely in order.”

Helmut Rohrwild in hifi & records, 04/2016

 

Download Review

Did we draw your interest?

30. September – 01. Oktober 2017 Westdeutsche HiFi-Tage | Bonn – Maritim Hotel

Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an: +49 (0) 355 38377808

In der Ruhe liegt die Kraft.

Scroll down

Drive
Laufwerk in Perfektion.

Genuin Drive ist ein Laufwerk, das sich akustisch unsichtbar macht. Zentrales Ziel bei der Entwicklung war es, das Hinzufügen von Schwingungen zu vermeiden, die nicht auf der Schallplatte vorhanden sind. Dieser High End-Plattenspieler hat keinen Eigenklang, sondern stellt sich in den Dienst einer einzigen Aufgabe: Musik ohne jedwede Kolorierung in ihrer reinen Form wiederzugeben.

Dazu ist es unabdingbar, sämtliche schädlichen Außeneinflüsse – von Trittschall bis zu jeder Form der Resonanz – von dem extrem fragilen Vorgang der Schallplatten-Abtastung fernzuhalten. Solche Überlagerungen des eigentlichen Musiksignals führen dazu, dass Musik sich nicht natürlich entfalten kann. Um diese Beeinträchtigungen zu vermieden, muss die Schallplatte während des Abspielvorgangs „beruhigt“ werden. Das leistet der Drive von Genuin Audio. Mit beeindruckendem Ergebnis: Sie hören jetzt Musik pur.

Konzept Drehstab-Feder

Das Laufwerk basiert auf einer Subchassis-Konstruktion, bei der drei Drehstab-Federn die Aufhängung übernehmen. Jedes der drei höhenverstellbaren Federelemente ist einzeln auf eine identische Resonanzfrequenz des Subchassis abstimmbar – unabhängig von der jeweiligen Gewichtsbelastung der drei Federpositionen. Dadurch werden unkontrollierbare Taumelbewegungen des Subchassis vermieden. Das Laufwerk begibt sich nach Belastung sofort wieder in die Ausgangsposition zurück. Das gefürchtete mehrfache Nachschwingen eines Subchassis-Laufwerks findet hier nicht statt.

Jeder der drei Lager besteht aus einer Basisplatte, die drehbar auf der Kunststein-Platte montiert ist. Die eingespannte Drehstab-Feder besteht aus zwei aufeinander liegenden Federblechen aus hochpräzise dimensioniertem Federmaterial. Die Verwindung erzeugt die erforderliche Federkraft und die Reibung zwischen den zwei Federblechen während der Verwindung erzeugt die gewünschte Dämpfung, so dass Schwingungen schnell wieder abklingen. Das Gummi-Element verbindet den Federarm mit dem Subchassis und sorgt so für eine abgestimmte horizontale Führung. Einmal ab Werk eingestellt verändert sich die Position des Subchassis im Gehäuse nicht mehr.

Mehrstufige Dämpfungen

Das Subchassis aus hochdämpfendem, geschäumtem Aluminium-Material ist Träger für das Plattentellerlager, die Motoreinheit und das Arm-Board. Die Motoreinheit und das Arm-Board sind jeweils über Gummi-Verbundelemente gelagert und aus Kunststein gefertigt. Beide werden über hochdämpfendes Material zum Subchassis angekoppelt, um Schwingungen zu eliminieren. Der Antriebsmotor ist bewusst auf dem Subchassis positioniert, um Plattenteller und Antrieb so steif wie möglich miteinander zu verbinden. Die Basis des Plattenspielers stellt ein Sandwich aus MDF und Kunststein mit einer dämpfenden Zwischenlage aus Kork dar. Die Kunststeinplatte trägt die drei Drehstab-Federlager und ist mit dem Außengehäuse aus MDF verschraubt.

Diese Maßnahmen dienen einem Ziel: durch die Verbindung unterschiedlicher Materialien an so vielen (Kontakt-) Punkten wie möglich dämpfende Wirkungen zu erzeugen, um den potentiell schädlichen Außeneinfluss des Laufwerks auf die Schallplattenwiedergabe zu unterbinden. Dieses Konzept setzt sich beim Plattenteller fort. Er besteht in einer Sandwich-Konstruktion aus zwei Kunststein-Scheiben mit dämpfender Zwischenlage. Das Lager für den Plattenteller ist ein Gleitlager von 10-mm-Durchmesser mit axialer Lagerung über eine Stahlkugel auf einem Lagerspiegel aus Delrin.

„Bei der Konzeption des Drive bin ich dem Prinzip gefolgt, bekannte und bewährte Materialien sowie Techniken so auszuwählen und zu kombinieren, dass ein maximales Ergebnis erreicht wird. In meiner 35-jährigen Tätigkeit als Designer und Entwickler für sehr verschiedene Branchen konnte ich dabei aus einem reichen Erfahrungsschatz schöpfen.“

Helmut Thiele
Entwickler Genuin Drive

Feinschliff

Die drei unabhängig voneinander einstellbaren Drehstab-Federelemente sind auf der Basis-Platte sind montiert. Werksseitig ist das Laufwerk auf eine Resonanzfrequenz von 4,5 Hz – 5 Hz ausgerichtet. Die Höheneinstellung kann jedoch von unterhalb des Bodens justiert werden, falls zusätzliche Gewichte wie z.B. Pucks die Lage des Subchassis beeinflussen.

Der Plattenteller wird von einem Synchronmotor über einen Rundriemen angetrieben. Die Riemenspannung ist in einem Bereich von + – 5mm veränderbar. So kann das Verhältnis von Durchzug („Drive“) und Laufruhe den eigenen Vorlieben angepasst werden. Die Einstellung erfolgt von der Oberseite des Gerätes. Dort befindet sich auch ein Tastenfeld mit beleuchteten Tasten für Ein/Aus und die Drehzahlwahl. Über ein Potentiometer auf der Rückseite des Laufwerks sind die beiden Drehzahlen 33 1/3 und 45 feinfühlig einstellbar. Der Motor wird hierfür über eine interne Motorsteuerung angetrieben, während die Stromversorgung mit einem externen Netzteil erfolgt.

Der Premotec-Motor ist auf einem Motorträger aus POM verschraubt, dieser Motorträger wiederum ist drehbar am Motor-Board aus Kunststein befestigt. Das gesamte Motor-Board ist über drei Gummi-Verbund-Elemente auf dem Subchassis verschraubt, wobei ein zusätzliches Dämpfungs-Element zwischen Subchassis-Platte und Kunststein-Platte die Motorvibrationen effektiv bedämpft.

Punktgenaue Partnerschaft

Das Laufwerk Drive findet seinen kongenialen Partner in dem Tonarm Point von Genuin Audio. Der Tonarm ist mit seinem Basisrohr von 18-Millimetern über eine massive Andruckscheibe und eine M8-Schraube extrem fest mit dem Arm-Board verschraubt, was von besonderer Bedeutung für eine „knackige“, scharf akzentuierte Wiedergabe ist. Auf diese Art werden erneut klangschädigende Einflüsse durch von Außen zugetragene Schwingungen vermieden.

point-slider-1

Im Arm-Board integriert ist die hochwertige LEMO-Buchse, welche das Tonarmkabel mit den symmetrischen XLR- oder RCA-Buchsen verbindet. Zur Minderung von störenden Kontaktpunkten wurde das hochwertige Kabel durchgehend verdrahtet. Es ist bereit für die Aufnahme des idealen Abtasters – dem MC-Tonabnehmersystem Sting von Genuin Audio.

Variationen

Ein Genuin Drive kann in unterschiedlichen Ausführungen für Sie hergestellt werden. Je nach Kundenwunsch enthält das Laufwerk neben der Motorsteuerung zusätzlich den Tonarm Point, den Tonabnehmer Sting oder die integrierte Phono-Vorstufe Pearl mit symmetrischer Signalführung für MC-Tonabnehmersysteme und vielfältigen Einstellungsoptionen.

Bei dieser vollständigen Ausbaustufe wird ein attraktiver Paket-Preis angeboten.

Technische Daten

Chassis-Basis auf 3 Spikes gelagerte Sandwich-Konstruktion aus MDF/Kork/Corian
Subchassis aus hochdämpfendem, porösen Aluminium-Material
Subchassis-Federung mittels selbstdämpfender Drehstab-Federn
Drehstab-Federn selbstdämpfend, in Federhöhe und Resonanzfrequenz aufeinander abstimmbar
Drehstar-Feder-Einstellung 3 Justage-Punkte an der Unterseite
Motor-Board Corian, entkoppelt und bedämpft
Antrieb Synchronmotor und speziell entwickelter Steuerelektronik
Tastenfeld beleuchtet, für 0 und 33 1/3 und 45 U/min
Feinjustage rückwärtig mit Potentiometern, für 33 1/3 und 45 U/min
Stromversorgung extern
Motor-Pulley Material POM
Riemen Rundschnur, einstellbarer Abstand 10-Millimeter
Plattentellerlager 10-Millimeter Gleitlager, gelagert auf Kugel und Delrin-Lagerspiegel
Plattenteller Sandwich-Konstruktion aus Corian (2x) mit dämpfender selbstklebender Zwischenlage
Arm-Board aus Corian, im Bereich Tonarmbasis hochfest verschraubt, restliche Fläche entkoppelt und bedämpft
Gehäuse zweiteilig – MDF plus Echtholz-Seitenwangen

 

Phono-Vorverstärker Pearl

Mögliche Tonabnehmer Moving Coil (MC) / Moving Magnet (MM)
Aufbau (MC) symmetrisch
Eingangswiderstand (MC) 2 kOhm, 1 kOhm, 500 Ohm, 250 Ohm, 125 Ohm
Verstärkung (MC) 20, 22, 24, 26, 28 dB
Gleichtaktunterdrückung > 90 dB zwischen 20 Hz und 20 kHz
Signal-Rauschabstand bei 61 dB Verstärkung (MC) > 62 dB linear / > 70 dB Awtd / > 69 dB CCIR 2k
Eingangswiderstand (MM) 47 kOhm
Eingangskapazität (MM) 50pF, 100pF, 150pF, 200pF, 250pF
Entzerrung (MM) RIAA ohne Neumann Zeitkonstante
RIAA Toleranz (MM) < +- 0,3 dB (typisch < 0,1 dB)
Kanalabweichung (MM) < 0,15 dB
Verstärkung (MM) 37 dB, 39 dB, 41 dB, 43 dB, 45 dB
Signal-Rauschabstand bei 41 dB Verstärkung (MM) > 83 dB linear / > 90 dB Awtd / > 89 dB CCIR 2k
Subsonic-Filter schaltbar; 15Hz/18dB/Oktave Butterworth
Overload-Anzeige > 16 dB über 10 mV/1 kHz MM-Eingang
Verzerrungen THD & Noise < 0,001% zwischen 20 Hz und 20 kHz
Intermodulation 19 kHz/20 kHz < 0,001%
Aussteuerungsreserve > 20 dB; jeweils für MM und MC
Ausgangswiderstand 50 Ohm
Netzteil Extern, Ringkerntransformator 250 V, Netzfilter

Das sagt die Presse über Genuin Drive

hifi-records.png

„Dieses Analog-Ensemble liefert eine sehr souveräne Vorstellung und zeichnet sich durch absolute Ruhe vor einem tiefschwarzen Hintergrund aus – das ist schon oberste Güteklasse. […] Ein Laufwerk, das sich nicht einmischt, ein Tonarm, der mit verschiedensten Tonabnehmern beste Rillenauslese liefert, und eine integrierte Phonostufe, die für eine exzellente Umsetzung des Phonosignals sorgt, bildet mit dem MC Sting ein edles Analogpaket vom Feinsten. Es verdient eine Empfehlung, die durch die Flexibilität hinsichtlich der Tonabnehmerwahl bestärkt wird. Der Preis dafür geht völlig in Ordnung.“

Helmut Rohrwild in Ausgabe hifi & records 04-2016

 

Download Testbericht

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?