May 09th – 12th, 2019 High End | Munich MOC

For questions, please call us: +49 (0) 355 38377808

Less sounds like more.

Scroll down

sting Peak Force

With the sting, the genuin audio philosophy of focusing on the essence of a product is particularly obvious. This moving coil system does without any form of outer body, as is typically the case with cartridges. The reason for this is simple: what does not exist cannot produce resonances.


Mounting Plate instead of casing

Since a case-free cartridges requires a possibility for attachment on the head of the tonearm, the genuin audio sting received a special mounting platform. A graphite-fibre combination was chosen as the material. It is distinguished by its high stability, whereby the molecular structure of graphite is particularly suitable for the absorption of resonances.

sting_v2


Resonance Reduction

The mounting plate has several milled longitudinal and transverse grooves in order to prevent the transmission of mechanical impulses. In addition, a cover has been integrated for the sensitive connection pins to protect the extremely thin coil wires from unintentional contact. For easier installation on the tonearm headshell, the mounting platform has integrated screw-in threads (2.5 mm).

“After you have heard a cartridge of this calibre, inevitably the question arises why you have lost so much sound potential at the very tip of your playback setup until now?”

Ansgar Hatscher
HiFi Stars in Issue 30-2016

Additional Magnet

The basic magnetic circuit of the pick-up is supplemented by a particularly strong iron neodymium magnet, which leads to an additional amplification of the entire magnetic field. This increases the output voltage, while, on the other hand, intermodulation distortions are reduced. This results in improved transparency and cleaner playback of the high frequencies.


Magnetic Dust Cleaner

Furthermore, the additional magnet acts as a “vacuum cleaner” by attracting all magnetizable metallic particles. This prevents them from being caught in the air gap in front of or behind the coil – which could significantly impede the reproduction and reduce the durability of the cartridge. This threat has finally been eliminated.


Boron Cantilever with Van den Hul Stylus

sting_v3

The genuin audio sting is equipped with a cantilever made of boron. As a very hard material, boron has much higher stiffness compared to conventional aluminium variants. This lessens the influence of the cantilever on the to-be-transmitted signal. The moving mass of the cartridge is also reduced. As a result, the resonance frequency could be shifted upwards.

This cantilever was fitted with a stylus from the legendary Dutch specialist Van den Hul, whose products, meticulously handcrafted, have a world-wide reputation.


Connected Loads

We recommend using a high-quality phono pre-amplifier that provides the possibility of setting the load capacity. The Moving Coil system from genuin audio works perfectly when supplied with values ranging between 500 and 1000 ohms.

Versatility & Compatibility

The sting can show off its superior sound quality on a variety of high-quality tonearms. Naturally, it plays particularly harmoniously in combination with the in-house tonearm point of genuin audio.

Technical Specifications

Technical Set-Up Open cartridge fixed in the system body with a graphite fibre compound
Operating Principle Moving Coil
Output Voltage 0.45mV at 1kHz and 5.6cm/s horizontal
Channel Balance <1dB
Channel Separation >25 dB
Generator Impedance 40 Ohms plus/minus 20% at 1 kHz
Compliance 5×10-6 cm/dyne
Tracking Force 2.5p plus/minus 0.3p
Frequency Response 20Hz to 45kHz
Cantilever Boron Tube
Stylus Diamond Van den Hul
Additional Magnet Large iron-neodymium type for field linearization and intermodulation reduction
Weight 11.1p
Suggested Load Impedance > 100 Ohm, recommended 1000 Ohm
Tracking Ability with a suitable tone arm at 2.5p >80μm (Ortofon Test Record)
Special Features • Integrated 2.5 mm thread
• Resonance-reducing milled longitudinal and transverse grooves
• Protective device for the soldered wires at the connection pins
Download Manual

Press comments on the genuin sting

hifi-records.png

“…this combination excelled with a highly complete readout of what is stored in the groove. It was also great that there was no recognizable inclination towards a certain genre. The Genuin sting is unquestionably worth its price and thus a strong recommendation for discerning music listeners.”

Helmut Rohrwild – HiFi & Records (01-2016)

Did we draw your interest?

18. – 21. Mai 2017 High End 2017 | München – MOC

Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an: +49 (0) 355 38377808

Weniger klingt mehr.

Scroll down

Sting Spitzenmodell

Besonders offensichtlich wird die Genuin Audio-Philosophie der Fokussierung auf die Essenz eines Produktes beim Tonabnehmer Sting. Denn dieses MC-System verzichtet auf jegliche Form der Außenhülle, wie sie typischerweise bei Tonabnehmern anzutreffen ist. Der Grund dafür ist einfach: Was nicht vorhanden ist, kann auch keine Resonanzen erzeugen.


Montageplatte statt Gehäuse

Da der gehäuse-befreite Systemkörper eine Möglichkeit der Fixierung am Tonkopf des Tonarmes braucht erhielt der Genuin Audio Sting eine spezielle Montageplattform. Als Material wurde eine Graphit-Faser-Kombination gewählt. Sie zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Stabilität aus, wobei sich die molekulare Struktur von Graphit sich besonders zur Absorption von Resonanzen eignet.

sting_v2


Resonanzminderung

Die Montageplatte hat mehrfach ausgefräste Längs- und Querrillen, um die Übertragungswege mechanischer Anregungen zu unterbinden. Zusätzlich wurde an den sensiblen Stellen der Anschlussstifte eine Abdeckung integriert, um die extrem dünnen Spulendrähte vor unabsichtlichen Berührungen zu schützen. Zum leichteren Einbau in den Tonkopf verfügt die Montageplattform über integrierte Gewinde zur Schraubenaufnahme (2,5 Millimeter).

„Wenn man einen Tonabnehmer diesen Kalibers gehört hat, kommt unweigerlich die Frage auf, warum man ganz vorne in seiner Wiedergabekette bisher so viel Klangpotenzial hat liegen lassen?“

Ansgar Hatscher
HIFI-Stars in Ausgabe 30-2016

Zusatz-Magnet

Der Basis-Magnetkreis des Tonabnehmers wird durch einen besonders starken Eisen-Neodym-Magneten ergänzt, was zu einer zusätzlich Verstärkung des gesamten magnetischen Feldes führt. Dadurch erhöht sich die Ausgangsspannung. Die Intermodulationsverzerrungen hingegen reduzieren sich. Das führt zu einer verbesserten Durchhörbarkeit und saubererer Höhenwiedergabe.


Magnetischer Staubsauger

Darüber hinaus fungiert der zusätzliche Magnet als „Staubsauger“, indem er alle magnetisierbaren metallischen Teilchen anzieht. Dadurch wird verhindert, daß diese sich im Luftspalt vor oder hinter der Spule festsetzen – was die Wiedergabe erheblich beinträchtigen und die Haltbarkeit des Tonabnehmers mindern könnte. Diese Möglichkeit wurde hiermit final unterbunden.


Bor-Nadelträger mit Van den Hul-Nadel

sting_v3

Das Genuin Audio Sting ist mit einem Nadelträger aus Bor versehen. Als sehr hartes Material besitzt Bor gegenüber gängigen Varianten aus Aluminium eine wesentlich höhere Steifheit, was den Einfluss des Nadelträgers auf das zu übertragende Signal reduziert. Die bewegte Masse des Tonabnehmers wird so wirkungsvoll reduziert. Dadurch konnte die Resonanzfrequenz nach oben verschoben werden.

Auf diesem Träger sitzt eine Nadel vom legendären holländischen Spezialisten Van den Hul, dessen in akribischer Handarbeit hergestellte Produkte weltweit einen herausragenden Ruf besitzen.


Anschlusswerte

Wir empfehlen den Tonabnehmer an einem hochwertigen Phono-Vorverstärker zu betreiben, welcher die Möglichkeit einer Einstellung der Anschlusskapazität bieten sollte. Zwischen 500 Ohm bis 1000 Ohm arbeitet das Moving Coil-System von Genuin Audio im optimalen Bereich.

Vielfältig einsetzbar

Das Sting kann seine überlegende Klangqualität an einer Vielzahl von hochwertigen Tonarmen darstellen. Naturgemäß spielt es besonders harmonisch am hauseigenen Tonarm Point von Genuin Audio.

Unverbindliche Preisempfehlung Sting: € 1.950

Technische Daten

Aufbau Offenes Tonabnehmersystem im Systemkörper in einem Graphit-Faser Compound fixiert
Arbeitsprinzip Moving Coil
Ausgangsspannung 0,45mV bei 1kHz und 5,6cm/s horizontal
Kanalungleichheit <1dB
Kanaltrennung >25 dB
Generatorimpedanz 40 Ohm plus/minus 20% bei 1 kHz
Nachgiebigkeit ca. 10×10 hoch minus 6 dynet
Auflagegewicht 2,5p plus/minus 0,3p
Frequenzgang 20Hz bis 45kHz
Nadelträger Boronröhrchen
Abtastdiamant Van den Hul
Zusatzmagnet Großer Eisen-Neodym zur Feldlinearisierung und Intermodulationsreduktion
Gewicht 11,1p
Abschlussimpedanz > 100 Ohm, empfohlen 1000 Ohm
Abtastfähigkeit Mit geeignetem Tonarm bei 2,5p Auflagekraft > 80μm (Ortofon Test Record)
Besonderheiten • integrierte 2,5mm Gewinde
• Resonanzmindernde eingefräste Längs- und Querrillen
• Schutzvorrichtung für die angelöteten Drähte an den Anschlusspins

Das sagt die Presse über Genuin Sting

hifi-records.png

„… diese Kombination glänzte mit einer hochgradig vollständigen Auslese dessen, was in der Rille gespeichert ist. Klasse auch, dass keine Orientierung zu einem bestimmten Genre hin erkennbar ist. Das Genuin Sting ist fraglos seinen Preis wert und somit eine starke Empfehlung für anspruchsvolle Musikhörer.“

Helmut Rohrwild – hifi & records (01-2016)

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?