For questions, please call us: +49 (0) 355 38377808

The current makes the music.

Scroll down

nimbus The shortest path to sound

This power amplifier is a perfect representation of genuin audio’s philosophy. The nimbus pursues genuin’s central concept of “less is more” in an uncompromising fashion and very consciously goes its own way in its circuitry. The result is appropriate power to any linked loudspeaker in any situation.

The genuin nimbus takes itself out of the equation and delivers music just exactly as it was intended: pure, alive, genuine. What you hear is not an interpretation of the amplifier but the pure emotion and expression of the artist.

Maximally minimalistic

The genuin audio power amplifier is deliberately designed to be minimalistic. The fewer amplifier stages and components are used, the smaller the effect on the sound. The shortest signal paths and fewest control loops also reduce interferences to a minimum. To ensure that this approach doesn’t come at the expense of stability and performance, a patented circuit has been developed – the energy-efficient voltage-accurate constant-current amplifier.

Novel Circuit Design

In this voltage-accurate constant-current amplifier, the voltage and current amplification are completely independent of each other. The amplifier branch is powered by a constant current while a separate power source sitting directly at the speaker output supplies it with much current as required. There is therefore no interdependency between current and voltage.

The circuit design of the voltage-accurate constant-current amplifier leads to optimal control of the connected loudspeaker. It cannot ever have a negative impact on the signal processing within the amplifier. Even its own resonance frequencies or phase shifts through the frequency crossover network cannot adversely affect the performance of the amplifier.

Unfazed by the constantly changing requirements of a loudspeaker, the amplifier always operates exactly the same – with extreme dynamics and highest resolution. Due to its exceptionally high damping factor, it is also load-stable down to less than 2 ohms.

Advancements in Energy Efficiency

The voltage-accurate constant-current amplifier by design always operates in pure Class A mode. This technical setup meets even the highest sonic demands. Usually, however, a high power dissipation is a side effect.

After four years of development on the genuin audio nimbus, we have succeeded in retaining all the advantages of Class A technology with a more energy-efficient circuit variant. This has been done without the conventional use of additional servo circuits and feedback loops that would have a negative impact on signal transmission.

Instead we use a current bypass with its own additional power source that greatly reduces the Class A bias current of the voltage amplifier stage. The amplification of the signal therefore continues in pure Class A mode in the constant-current amplifier while the power delivery for the loudspeaker is handled by two synchronous current sources in the energy-efficient Class AB mode.

Minimized to the maximum, this was the basic idea in the development of this amplifier.

Gerd Sauermann
developer of the genuin audio Nimbus

High Bandwidth for Time Coherence

The timing factor didn’t only play a critical role in the development of the genuin pulse loudspeaker, it is also of great importance in the nimbus power amplifier. Since the human ear is able to analyse and locate impulse signals within approximately 10 microseconds, an amplifier must never corrupt the temporal relation of the individual signal elements. The slower the signal processing in an amplifier, the higher the risk of changing the temporal relations.

The amplification of the signal from the input jack to the loudspeaker terminal is carried out by the nimbus in less than 20 nanoseconds! This extremely short propagation delay contributes significantly to the authentic music reproduction of the genuin nimbus amplifier.

Meticulous Construction

A decisive aspect in the minimalistic-oriented construction of the genuin nimbus is the reduction of parasitic component interdependencies. A sophisticated PCB layout with SMD technology combined with the highest-quality, close-tolerance, long-term stable components ensure that the amplifier does exactly what it is supposed to do – and nothing else.
Only the best materials are used for internal wiring: silver and gold.

Sedated Mechanics

The consequent avoidance of disturbing external influences and resulting disadvantageous microphone effects are a common theme in the mechanical design of the amplifier. Depending on the application, either tough or soft materials such as pastes, putty, Teflon tape, etc. decouple and soothe all components and material junctions. This careful treatment results in a high degree of serenity and precision in the sonic image.

Continuous Symmetry

The nimbus stereo power amplifier is consistently symmetrical in dual mono construction. It consequently only has balanced inputs that are ideally matched by the XLR conductors offered in the genuin direct series.

The loudspeaker terminals are supplied by WBT and maintain the high mechanical demand of the device. We recommend the genuin audio direct as the perfectly matched speaker cable.

The aluminium casing is available in black or silver.

The inside matters

With its revolutionary circuit design, this uncompromisingly minimalistic, time-coherent power-amplifier is able to drive every loudspeaker at its highest potential. This amplifier conducts the speaker – not the other way around. Its load-independent transmission behaviour guarantees extremely high resolution and lively dynamics for any musical genre. Only that way the audio playback becomes truly genuine.

Technical Specifications

Power Rating 2 x 100 watts sine (4 Ohm)
2 x 250 atts peak (4 Ohm)
Damping Factor > 500 related to 8 Ohm
THD < 0,1 % (- 3 dB)
Power Supply 2 x 400 watts
2 x 72.000 μF
Power Consumption 80 watts (idle)
550 watts (max)
Input 2 x balanced via XLR connector
Output WBT terminals
Casing Aluminium, black or silver
Dimensions 435 x 319 x 100 mm (W x D x H)
Weight 8 kg

Press comments on the genuin nimbus

„A stereo amplifier for sophisticated listeners and connoisseurs: Although rather modest on the outside, the sound of Genuin nimbus above all else is nothing but rather special: It is one of the most effect-free, “non-intrusive” and therefore most music-conducive amps in its class. Bling-Bling-free high-end in its purest sense.“

 

 

 

„One of the most neutral and music-conductive amplifiers of its class.“

Jörg Dames in 6moons (April 2018)
www.6moons.com

 

 

 

 

„The Genuin nimbus conveys absolutely any kind of music without self-interpretation. The strikingly positive quality, in the given recording quality, make it a pleasure-enhancer of the first quality.“

Alexander Aschenbrunner in HIFI-STARS, 09-11/2017

Download Review

 
 

Did we draw your interest?

09. September – 10. September 2017 Hausmesse Muchow HiFi & Records | Hamburg

Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an: +49 (0) 355 38377808

Der Strom macht die Musik.

Scroll down

Nimbus Auf kurzem Weg zum Ziel

Dieser Endverstärker ist ein perfekter Repräsentant der Philosophie von Genuin Audio. Der Nimbus verfolgt die zentrale Genuin-Idee des „Weniger ist Mehr“ in kompromissloser Konsequenz und geht dafür schaltungstechnisch den bewussten Sonderweg. Als Ergebnis versorgt er jeden Lautsprecher in jeder Situation mit der erforderlichen Leistung.

Der Genuin Nimbus nimmt sich selbst tonal vollständig zurück und übermittelt die Musik nur in der originalen Form: pur, lebendig, natürlich. Sie hören keine Interpretation durch den Verstärker, sondern ausschließlich Gefühl und Ausdruck des Künstlers.

Maximaler Minimalismus

Der Genuin Audio-Poweramplifier ist bewusst minimalistisch konzipiert. Je weniger Verstärkerstufen und Bauteile zum Einsatz kommen, desto geringer ist deren Einfluss auf das Klanggeschehen. Kürzeste Signalwege und wenige Regelschleifen reduzieren zudem Störeinflüsse auf ein Mindestmaß. Damit dieser Ansatz nicht auf Kosten der Stabilität und Leistungsfähigkeit geht, wurde eine patentierte Schaltung entwickelt – der energieeffiziente spannungsakkurate Konstantstromverstärker.

Neuartiges Schaltungsdesign

Bei dem spannungsakkuraten Konstantstromverstärker erfolgt die Spannungs- und Stromverstärkung vollständig unabhängig voneinander. Durch den Verstärkerzweig für die Spannungsverstärkung fließt stets ein konstanter Strom, während eine Stromquelle am Lautsprecherausgang jedoch beliebig viel Strom bereitstellt und nachliefert. Es entsteht daher keine Wechselwirkung zwischen Strom und Spannung.

Das Schaltungsdesign des spannungsakkuraten Konstantstromverstärkers führt zu einer optimalen Kontrolle des angeschlossenen Lautsprechers. Dieser hat zu keinem Zeitpunkt eine Rückwirkung auf die Signalverarbeitung des Verstärkers. Er kann dessen Performance über Parameter wie Nachschwingen mit eigenen Resonanzfrequenzen oder Phasenverschiebungen durch die Frequenzweiche nicht negativ beeinflussen.

Unbeeindruckt von den permanent wechselnden Anforderungen eines Lautsprechers agiert der Verstärker stets konstant gleich, extrem dynamisch und hoch auflösend. Durch seinen ausnehmend hohen Dämpfungsfaktor ist er außerdem laststabil bis unter 2 Ohm.

Weiterentwicklung zur Energie-Effizienz

Der spannungsakkurate Konstantstromverstärker arbeitet prinzipbedingt im reinen Class A-Betrieb. Diese technische Konzeption genügt klanglich höchsten Ansprüchen. Jedoch muss dafür eine hohe Ruheverlustleistung in Kauf genommen werden.

Für den Genuin Audio Nimbus ist es nach vierjähriger Entwicklungszeit gelungen, alle Vorzüge der Class A-Technik auf eine energieeffizientere Schaltungsvariante zu übertragen. Und zwar ohne den gängigen Weg über zusätzliche umfangreiche Regelungen und Gegenkopplungsmaßnahmen, denn diese üben immer einen negativen Einfluss auf die Signalübertragung aus.

Stattdessen wird ein Strom-Bypass mit einer zusätzlichen Stromquelle implementiert, wodurch der Class A-Ruhestrom der Spannungsverstärkerstufe extrem verringert werden kann. Die Verstärkung des Signals erfolgt also weiterhin in einem Class A-Konstantstromverstärker. Die Lieferung des Stromes für den Lautsprecher übernehmen jetzt aber zwei paar gegenläufig synchron arbeitende Stromquellen in energieeffizientem Class AB-Betrieb.

Maximal minimiert, das ist der Grundgedanke bei der Entwicklung dieses Verstärkers.

Gerd Sauermann
Entwickler Genuin Audio Nimbus

Hohe Bandbreite für Zeitrichtigkeit

Der Faktor Zeit spielt nicht nur beim Genuin-Lautsprecher Pulse eine entscheidende Rolle, auch für die Endstufe Nimbus ist er von großer Bedeutung. Da das menschliche Gehör zur Analyse und Ortung von impulsartigen Signalen diese innerhalb von zirka 10 Mikrosekunden auswertet, darf auch ein Verstärker keinesfalls Zeitbezüge der Signalanteile verfälschen. Je „langsamer“ die Signalverarbeitung in einem Verstärker erfolgt umso höher ist die Gefahr der Veränderung von zeitlichen Bezügen.

Die Verstärkung des Signals von der Eingangsbuchse bis zur Lautsprecherklemme erfolgt im Nimbus in weniger als 20 Nanosekunden! Dieses extrem schnelle Übertragungsverhalten trägt entscheidend zur authentischen Musikwiedergabe des Genuin Nimbus-Verstärkers bei.

Penibler Aufbau

Ein entscheidender Aspekt bei der minimalistisch orientierten Konstruktion des Genuin Nimbus ist die Verringerung parasitärer Bauteil-Einflüsse. Ausgefeiltes Platinen-Layout in SMD-Technik in Verbindung mit höchstwertigen, eng tolerierten, langzeitstabilen Bauteilen stellt sicher, dass der Verstärker exakt nur das macht was er soll – und sonst nichts.
Für die Innenverdrahtung kommen ebenfalls nur beste Materialien zum Einsatz: Silber und Gold.

Beruhigte Mechanik

Die konsequente Vermeidung störender Außeneinflüsse und daraus resultierender nachteiliger Mikrofonie-Effekte zieht sich konsequent durch den mechanischen Aufbau des Gerätes. Je nach Einsatzort entkoppeln und beruhigen entweder zähe oder weiche Materialien wie Pasten, Kitt, Teflon-Band etc. alle Bauteile und Materialübergänge. Diese sorgfältige Behandlung resultiert in einem Höchstmaß an Gelassenheit und Präzision im Klangbild.

Durchgehende Symmetrie

Der Stereo-Endverstärker Nimbus ist konsequent symmetrisch in Doppel-Mono-Bauweise aufgebaut. Er verfügt folgerichtig ausschließlich über symmetrische Eingänge, für die Genuin in seiner Direct-Reihe optimal passende XLR-Verbindungen anbietet.

Die Lautsprecherklemmen halten das hohe mechanische Niveau des Gerätes aufrecht und stammen von WBT. Als ideales Lautsprecherkabel empfehlen wir das Direct von Genuin Audio.

Das Aluminium-Gehäuse ist in schwarzer oder silberner Ausführung erhältlich.

The inside matters

Durch seine revolutionäre Schaltung versteht es der bewusst minimalistisch aufgebaute, zeitrichtig arbeitende Genuin-Endverstärker, jedem Lautsprecher auf die bestmögliche Art zu betreiben. Weil er den Schallwandler kontrolliert führt – und nicht anders herum. Sein lastunabhängiges Übertragungsverhalten garantiert in jeder Konstellation, bei jeder Musik extrem hohe Auflösung und lebendige Dynamik. Nur so wird eine natürliche Wiedergabe möglich.

Technische Daten

Ausgangsleistung 2 x 100 Watt Sinus (4 Ohm)
2 x 250 Watt Impuls (4 Ohm)
Dämpfungsfaktor > 500 bezogen auf 8 Ohm
THD < 0,1 % (- 3 dB)
Netzteilleistung 2 x 400 Watt
2 x 72.000 μF
Leistungsaufnahme 80 Watt (Ruhe)
550 Watt (Maximal)
Gehäuse Aluminium, schwarz oder silber
Maße 435 x 319 x 100 mm (B x T x H)
Gewicht 8 KG

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?